Glasgow Museums

Jessica Lumsden
2 min readDec 10, 2018

--

I was back home in Fife the day we were meant to be going on our class trip to Glasgow, so my best friend who is an English student kindly accompanied me to Glasgow last week. We were planning on going to The Kelvingrove, The Lighthouse and The Gallery of Modern Art but we sadly ran out of time before we could get to the GoMa and have both been too broke to make it back.

Floating Heads by Sophie Cave

First we went to the Kelvingrove; I didn’t really know what kinds of things were in there so when we first walked into the beautiful building I had quite high hopes. As we walked into the first exhibition, I was disappointed with the lack of description of what I was looking at so I had to a lot of research afterwards. There were really nice detailed sculptures of people everywhere and when I looked up there was a sea of faces making different expressions. After doing research into why these heads were here, I found that it was all inspired by the word expression. I really liked the design in this part of the museum and see now that all the different sculptures were portraying expression.

Paintings by John Knox (top) and James Docharty (bottom)

When we went upstairs, there were different rooms filled with artworks from different countries. A couple of my favourite pieces were in the Scottish Colourists area. I love these pieces by John Knox and James Docharty because they are so outstandingly beautiful. The detail in the paintings is so mesmerising to me because I have never been able to paint, I can use so many others materials but have never been able to work a paintbrush.

--

--

Jessica Lumsden

Interior and Spatial Design Student at Edinburgh Napier University