2​022 Different

The drastic and the slow changes

Jessica Freeborn
5 min readDec 31, 2022
Staircase in a forest
Photo by Rafif Prawira on Unsplash

I​f I had to sum up 2022, I would say it’s been different. It’s been full of unexpected changes but also a million little steps toward positive growth. Isn’t that how life is? There’s a significant change, and then we get to work on how we respond.

I​’ve been thinking about the areas of change this year, as I have seen differences in my career, tackling of challenges, and relationships.

The writer life

2021 saw me switching to a career in freelance writing, but there was still a lot of uncertainty. At the beginning of 2022, one of my high-paying clients no longer wanted to work with me, which worried me.

W​hen a job opportunity opened up at the practice of one of my favorite doctors, I went to visit and go over the prospects. But upon interviewing, I realized I didn’t want a nursing job. I liked what I was doing as a health freelance writer, including the flexibility of my schedule. After that, my choice to be a writer was further solidified.

I​’m glad I made that choice. Since then, there have been a bunch of improvements along the way. My clientele and workload have increased, and each day has been a chance to hone my writing skills. I’ve seen improvements in my style and speed, with pieces that used to take several hours…

--

--