Dr. Strange in the Multiverse of Madness: a deeper underlying theme

Jessica Freeborn
6 min readMay 21, 2022

In this universe, I don’t hold the knife, but I can trust the One who does

Photo by Andre Frueh on Unsplash

Warning: The following contains spoilers for Dr. Strange in the Multiverse of Madness.

I was quite proud of myself this time around. I resisted the urge to watch many of the Dr. Strange trailers so that I could be surprised by the fun. No regrets on that one.

Overall, the movie was enjoyable and certainly a fun distraction as I packed myself into a crowded theater for a pre-showing. But all too quickly, the deeper side of me goes past the “fun distraction” component of a movie to “What was the underlying point?”

For this flick, it comes down to a simple line from Dr. Palmer close to the beginning of the film. “You always had to be the one holding the knife.” The movie is about control, wanting to be in control, and the dark consequences that can result when we fight to maintain a control that was never ours to possess.

The beginning: where is Dr. Strange at?

The film picks up with Dr. Stephen Strange shortly after his interactions with Spiderman in No Way Home. His growth from the last films is evident. He started out as a cocky surgeon and had to learn…

--

--