Four Pieces of Wisdom from my Dad

Jessica Freeborn
4 min readJun 21, 2022
Photo by Adam Nieścioruk on Unsplash

With Father’s Day this past weekend and my dad’s birthday just around the corner, it’s been a good time to reflect on my father’s impact on my life. When I think about all the people who had to grow up without a Dad, I feel sorry for them.

I remember going away to college and meeting new people. I remember some students on my floor telling me about their dads. One of them had a strained relationship with her dad, and when she tried to invite him back into her life, she was met with indifference. Another had a borderline abusive dad, and her mom and dad were currently divorced.

When I think about my dad, I realize how blessed I am that I got such a great one. He’s taught me a lot in my life. But where to begin? True to his nature, the life lessons I’ve picked up from him have been through how he lives his life and treats others. Here are some pieces of wisdom I’ve picked up from my dad over the years:

1. Consistency is strength.

My dad has worked at the same company for decades now. Over the years, he has won everyone’s respect through consistent work. He keeps showing up, does his best, and adapts to needs and changes. He focuses on what he can do and does it faithfully. My dad is the sort of person you can depend on and trust.

--

--