House to home: Part 1~ Finding the house

Jessica Freeborn
4 min readApr 6, 2024
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Could I call this place home?

I pondered the question as I looked at the house. It was white with blue trim. It had a front porch and a back patio. It had lots of windows, and despite some lower ceilings, the place felt open and warm because of all the natural lighting.

The last few days had been a whirlwind. My husband had found the property on Saturday. On Sunday, he had emailed the realtor who had helped him purchase his first house. Today, Monday, we were touring the property. The house hadn’t even been on the market a week, but we knew time was of the essence. A property like this at the price they were asking? There was no question in our minds that someone else would snap up this house if we didn’t make a move soon.

When I walked into the big kitchen, I was pretty much convinced the house was right for us. It had lots of light, storage space, and countertop room. I saw the perfect place for the coffee bar, and I was as good as committed. There was carpet in the kitchen, but my husband had dealt with that before, so we knew it could be a relatively straightforward project.

Could I call this place home?

The third bedroom was a bit small, but we could make it work. With each room I looked at, the possibilities in my mind continued to soar. There was a room that could…

--

--