Let’s talk about Grammarly.

Jessica Freeborn
4 min readMay 28, 2022

I have been using Grammarly for about six months now, and it has been a lifesaver. I know that sounds like a sales pitch, but the claims of Grammarly are legitimate. While not perfect, it has become one of my favorite tools to help take my writing to the next level.

I was a total skeptic, but I don’t want to go back now.

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

What exactly makes Grammarly so great?

1. It’s thorough. It catches a lot of grammar errors, including commas. Obviously, you still need to do your own editing, but I consider Grammarly one of my first lines of defense. I run my pieces through it to get the most glaring errors, and then I work on fine-tuning it.

2. It divides corrections into sections. Three of the main areas are correctness, clarity, and engagement. It then underlines these categories in different colors so that you can focus on one section or all of them at once. For example, the correctness alerts are in red, so I can fix these problems before working to make the content more engaging.

3. It gives your work an overall score. Your score ranges from 1–100 %. I can work to make sure the writing is above a particular score before moving on to my next section of editing.

4. You can tailor how Grammarly corrects your work based on your audience and goals. For…

--

--