Vocal and Medium: I’m still using both, but I’m liking Medium more.

Jessica Freeborn
6 min readMay 27, 2022

I know every writer writes this piece at some point. I’m just throwing in my two cents. (Hopefully, I’ll make more than two cents on this article.)

Vocal and Medium are platforms that allow writers to share their work with others, but each comes with its benefits and drawbacks. Here’s what I’ve found out about the platforms so far:

Photo by maria frances on Unsplash

What’s good about Vocal

Vocal does have a few things going for it, but here are the highlights that it has that Medium doesn’t have:

  • Bonuses: Vocal likes to encourage its new writers through bonuses. For example, most writers get a $5 bonus after publishing five stories, $10 after publishing ten stories, and $50 after publishing 50 stories. The sad part is that the bonuses pretty much end after the 50th story, but they give writers a little extra push to keep going initially.
  • An easy tipping system: Vocal makes it easy for viewers to tip creators. The tip button is a feature on every creator’s story. There’s also the option for readers to become monthly pledgers, where they send a small amount each month to a creator they wish to support.
  • Competitions: One of the biggest pulls for many Vocal writers is the competitions, with the opportunity for significant…

--

--