INSIDE

Jessica Yeung
3 min readDec 9, 2021

--

Final Project, CS 476a Fall 2021

A peek inside my room, and two of my good friends’ rooms :)

Each room has furniture that plays a unique sample that builds into a short musical piece that is reminiscent of each of our personal music tastes. Click with the mouse to turn furniture on and off, and navigate around the rooms using the arrow keys and mouse to change viewing direction.

My favorite part about my project is that it represents the little quirks I notice about my friends, like Miranda’s love for coffee, Nibha’s slightly tilted paintings in her room, and how you can “clean up” Nibha’s laundry.

One of the most challenging parts of assembling the rooms was to make the furniture individually bounce to their own melodies if they weren’t playing continuous samples. The other part was to figure out how to make the randomized melodies sound good together, especially as there were multiple lights generating melodies in each room. I solved this by splitting the pentatonic scale for each rooms’ key between the lights so that there wouldn’t be any dissonance. I also added a random variable to determine the register the notes played for more melodic variation, as well as a probability array to change the rhythms generatively.

The Unity package is built for MacOS. Simply build and click on the application build to run.

Again, here are the reference photos of our rooms for context:

Miranda’s room
Nibha’s room
My room

--

--