Turns out love is forgetting you

Jess Semaan
P.S. I Love You
Published in
2 min readOct 15, 2018

I used to think that love is a poem I write you to the beat of my heart when I receive a text from you

I used to think that love births from inside of me when you touch me with your wet fingers so gently

I used to think that love is yelling at you, and then begging you to forgive me, then you forgiving me

I used to think that love begins with a story of a Jewish and an Arab coming together, experiencing more similarities with their dishes and curls than differences with their countries and politics

I used to think that love is you coming back to me after months of silence, to go down on your knees and thank me for taking you in when you were broken and proud

I used to…

Now I know that love is forgetting you, love is not wanting you back, love is falling in love again, love is allowing me to feel angry with you, despair about you, hope about us, and then wisdom that it wasn’t you, it will never be you

You can leave me. You can tell me you never loved me. You can give me silence and coldness, my enemies, for brunch and dessert. But you can never stop me from loving you. and moving on.

Pre-order your copy of child of the moon my first illustrated book of poetry:

about child of the moon:
in between being your mother and father
i forgot to be your daughter
and became the child of the moon
inspired by the author’s traumatic childhood experiences and set against the backdrop of the lebanese civil war, child of the moon is a powerful collection of poetry reflecting on fear, shame, despair, suicide, and the unconditional love that leads to healing.

--

--