What We Could Learn From Our Kids

Jessica Spencer
3 min readJun 5, 2014

There has been one story recently that grabbed my attention. It affected me deeply. Something about it made me thinking why don’t we take our little kids seriously? Why do we tend to call their ideas and fantasies childish and never listen to them?

Frog Princess via RenatusGames

I love to play games, casual games mostly, because I don’t have time for anything else with my 6-year-old girl. Being an inquisitive person I kind of love researching the story behind the game. But very rarely there is one. This week my friend shared post about Bubble Magic 3D game on Facebook. It tells about the developer who was inspired by his daughter’s fantasies and created the game. He found her drawings of a frog princess which she called lucky. The child believed that the princess was happy to stay the frog forever. Of course we could talk about deeper psychological issues here, but as mentioned in the post this was motivated by ‘Shrek” movie and Fiona’s character. The developer didn’t make fun of his daughter nor neglected her — he put her ideas into practice. And that is brilliant.

The game is a simple bubble shooter, but the story is what matters. Cursed princess in frog shape wandered around magical world wanting her human appearance back to finally realize that she feels more comfortable as a frog. Seems ridiculous at first, who would want to stay a frog? But it is all about being yourself, overcoming challenges that life throws at you, accepting things and living the moment.

The hardest thing is to be happy today. To be happy with your body, with people around you, with your work. We tend to forget about it occupied with daily routine, in constant chase of better future that may never come. Happiness doesn’t depend on external factors, it comes from realizing that there is no search, you can feel it whenever you want, just focus on beautiful things you have in your life now. Your children, your passions, your guilty pleasures. Never go looking for happiness somewhere else, it is within you.That is what I learned from that little girl. And I think her father, the developer of the game understands that. He cherishes the moment and wants to share his child’s wisdom with everyone by making the game.
The best part here is that I started to listen to my daughter too, I take her more seriously. I believe that she could teach me about being a better human, a better woman. She makes me happy, today.

--

--