Turn Up the Volume in Your Life. {Poetry}

Jade Wright
1 min readDec 11, 2017

--

Photo Credit: Seth Doyle/Unsplash

It’s gonna get loud,

messy,

wild, and so

go with those sounds…

add your own voice,

singing along

even out-of-tune, but

don’t be consumed with an ideal of silence

for some meditations

come with the waving of a wand,

tapping it twice on your left shoulder,

and saying,

“We’re living in the brisk breaths of wildness

for that is how

we hear the mysterious magic

in the roaring sounds of cacophony.”

Copyright 2017 © Jade Wright

Poet’s Note:

I woke up with a lot of noise outside my window this morning.

I had a choice: complain, or join in the cacophony.

I turned on my music and grooved.

I danced a little while doing the things that needed to be done on a Monday morning. I laughed at how it’s so easy to get stuck in an idea in which silence is a necessary tool for creativity. Yep, it helps, but there’s also a need for loudness in the creative process.

So, if you can, then give it a try today. Let go of predetermined ideas, and turn up the volume in your life.

Join in the cacophony of being alive!

--

--

Jade Wright

she/her 🌸 Poet. Author. Painter. Mom. Radiant Introvert. Girl from the Gold Country. All Stories © 2023 Jessica “Jade” Wright