Book: 9 From the Nine Worlds (Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard) by Rick Riordan

Jessie Compton
3 min readMar 1, 2019

--

Magnus Chase 9 From the Nine Worlds PDF

9 from the Nine Worlds is the latest from Rick Riordan’s Gods of Asgard series. Like other of his books, 9 from the Nine Worlds is more of a companion book which consists of nine short stories. Each chapter, or story, is told from the point of view of one of Magnus’s friends and each travels to one of the Nine Worlds.

We get to see Hearthstone, Alex Fiero, Halfborn, and Blitzen as well as other characters. I truly enjoyed seeing more of the Nine Worlds and getting to hear from some of the other characters in the series. The book is short, making for a quick and enjoyable read. I would recommend this book for fans of mythology and Magnus Chase.

It was so much fun to revisit the worlds and friends of Magnus Chase, whose series ended much too soon, in my opinion. This short collection is a fun jaunt through all nine worlds of the Norse mythologies, as the title implies, but it is so much more. The combination of literary detail with contemporary, light-hearted writing and characters gives Riordan a place of his own in the genre and in the hearts of his fans. Another winner, for sure.

If you haven’t ordered this for your library already, you need to! It’s hard for me to review short stories, and the Norse mythology is not my strong suit, but there are different camps of Riordan fandom emerging now, and Asgard lovers will need this! I have to admit to loving The Lightning Thief best of all, although one of my runners is trying to convince me that The Kane Chronicles is really the best. (And I would love to see a movie of that one, as long as they didn’t actually blow up the British Museum!)

I only recently found out that the third book in the Magnus Chase series was the final one. I was so sad, but then I heard about this book of short stories featuring those same characters. While I would love for the Magnus Chase books to continue, this book was a lot of fun to read. Basically every character except Magnus was in it, and it was a nice review of the nine realms. Plus, Thor in short shorts jogging his way through each story was worth the price of admission alone. I also loved the two sets of drawings in this. It was interesting to see how I pictured the characters in my mind compared. I was basically way off on everyone but Alex. I definitely enjoyed this and would love more books from this world in the future.

Another cute short story collection from the Magnus Chase universe. Much like the Guide to Hotel Valhalla, this features short stories and a few illustrations that follow the main characters of the series on different adventures through each of the nine worlds. It’s a really fun read and I enjoy seeing more of the characters [also hearing that Alex misses Magnus when he’s away, awww], but as always I find it difficult to rate such short stories more than 3 stars. Still a great read for fans who miss the series though.

Magnus Chase 9 From the Nine Worlds PDF

--

--