The Way to Testing Mastery, Part 1: Rise

Jessie Hernandez
Geek Culture
Published in
8 min readSep 10, 2021

--

“When I master testing, will I get to dodge bugs?” Jessie: “No, when you master testing, you won’t have to”

setUp()

Much has been written on the subject of automated testing, whether it be unit tests, integration, end-to-end, or any esoteric permutation thereof. As with everything these days, there are a multitude of opinions on the subject, from those prescribing a long list of complicated rules for automated testing, to those who say unit-testing is overrated or a waste of time. Then there are those who like to sound smart and politically-correct by answering “It depends” to every question, which helps absolutely no one improve.

You will not find that in this article. This is a highly-opinionated piece on what has helped me improve my testing practices, and more importantly, as will be mentioned later, the quality of my code. Take what you will and apply it your own development. If just one item from this article helps you in the slightest with your code quality, then I have accomplished my goal.

I will be presenting code examples mostly in Go, which is one of the most popular languages used today for cloud and microservice development and my favorite language currently. In some instances, I’ll also present some examples in Java to reflect the OOP model of other common languages.

The Why

It is a well-known fact that fixing a bug after a product release is much higher…

--

--