Start next year now.

Jessica Katz
2 min readNov 22, 2017

End your year by accomplishing next year’s goals.

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions. I’ve set “goals” in January and also rebelled against setting any resolutions. I definitely know that I’m not great at getting them to stick. I know I’m not alone in my lackluster resolutions. I also know a lot of people make resolutions, goals, and take on challenges in the new year, only to have them busted by January 9th.

I figured a new tactic was needed. So, I have a proposal. Use Thanksgiving (or the next few weeks) as a time to think through your 2017 year. Decide what you’ve yet to accomplish this year OR what you hope to do in 2018. Then, on December 1st, or 5th, or 19th, START. Yep, you heard me right. Start next year’s goal this year.

Usually, we set high expectations to stick to something for the entire year, but we know we’ll run into, vacations, weather excuses, new jobs, new partners, just all these things called life. December is going to be filled with holidays, holiday parties, and potential travel, all those things that get in the way of resolutions. This craziness, while more hectic than your life in January is, it makes for the greatest testing ground.

Think about it. If you can accomplish a piece of your potential resolution in the toughest of times, the rest of the year is a cinch. It’ll make your January feel like a breeze. Or maybe you won’t even start the resolution you thought you needed because you realized ahead of time, it wasn’t for you. Yep, read that line again.

--

--

Jessica Katz

Also known as JKatz. People person. Network Weaver. Explorer. Yogi. Facilitator. Coach. HR. Awkwardly great at goat noises. Climbs. Reads. Likes Ice Cream.