Maintaining your resume with the same care as your curly hair.

Jessica Katz
5 min readMar 15, 2018

Hair and resumes. You don’t think there would be a connection. But indeed, I made one. In dealing with my mess of curly hair I’ve realized some similarities to how to care and deal with your resume and keeping it up to date.

This post is likely most relevant if you have curly hair and happen to be updating your resume. If you don’t have curly hair, here’s to hoping you find the tips for resumes helpful! If you aren’t looking to update your resume, well, you should always be updating your resume.

Here are some tips about managing that mane of curls, and general upkeep of your resume:

Don’t overdo it, more product isn’t always the answer.

I’m sure I could get in fights with people about this. Your hair doesn’t always need product, let it be free. Sometimes it might surprise you. Some of my best curls have come out sleeping on my hair wet. A mystery to this day.

It’s the same with your resume, keep it simple. Don’t go overboard with extra fluff. I sometimes question the depth of a person’s resume if there is so much creative “stuff” going on that I can’t tell what they have done. Own what your hair looks like, and own who you are. Your natural hair may stand out rather than weighing it down with mousse, gel, and spray. Just as a simple and…

--

--

Jessica Katz

Also known as JKatz. People person. Network Weaver. Explorer. Yogi. Facilitator. Coach. HR. Awkwardly great at goat noises. Climbs. Reads. Likes Ice Cream.