Keepass2 + Google Drive + Ubuntu 18.04

Jesus Luque Baez
2 min readJul 8, 2019

--

A not long time ago, I decided to change my operating system from Windows to Linux — Ubuntu 18.04. For this, I needed to find out many solutions for many programs I use in Windows.

The biggest headache was Keepass2. It`s a solution for the kind of people who has 1000 different passwords and works with cryptocurrencies ( you can save all that you need ).

My biggest problem came when I needed to share my database *.kdbx so if I make any changes in my database later I can see it in my office or on my mobile.

Generally, on Windows, I used a plugin called KeeAnywhere. My surprise was that KeyAnywhere needs Windows Framework to use it. So I checked on the Internet and found several options to do it, but any of them was working. I didn’t know if it was because I was having a bad day for working with Ubuntu or because of it was true that they didn’t work.

Finally, I found a straightforward solution. Couldn’t believe it was that easy!

Ubuntu has the option to create a folder where you want in which you can link your Google Drive. With this, I had the solution! Open my *.kdbx located in my home folder, which synchronised with Google Drive.

Procedure:

Installing Keepass2:

First of all, we need to install the repository of Keepass2 and update it.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:jtaylor/keepasssudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install keepass2

Installing Google Drive Ocamlfuse:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:alessandro-strada/ppa
sudo apt install google-drive-ocamlfuse

After this, we need to create a directory where we want to create the Google Drive folder and point the Ocamlfuse there.

mkdir ~/google-drive
google-drive-ocamlfuse ~/google-drive

It will open a browser asking for your Google Account credentials.

Allow google-drive-ocamlfuse to access your Google Drive files.

Open Keepass2 and look for your folder. Your Google Drive folder should be there. Now you can select your *.kdbx and enjoy your Keypass2!

I hope I can help somebody with this!

Pages I used for the story:

--

--