Mountain Biking America

Beau Chenery
9 min readOct 16, 2016

--

America boasts some of the best mountain biking in the world. I decided to do a road trip starting in California travelling across to Utah, Wyoming then back East to Idaho, Oregon and finishing in California. Here’s some photos of what I experienced.

My ride is my trusty Giant Trance Advanced 1 with Rockshox Pike 160mm fork and Rockshox Monarch with Debonair can shock on the rear. It performed flawlessly and I couldn’t have asked for a better stead for the adventure.

California

First stop was Mammoth Lakes.

Standing at the top of Mammoth Mountain at 11053ft about to embark on a 45min descent down the trail “Off the Top”
Looking out from Mammoth Mountain
Looking East from Mammoth Mountain
It’s a long way down to the bottom
Just outside of Mammoth Lakes enroute to St George, Utah
Death Valley
Pano in Death Valley

Utah

The highways through Utah wind their way through stunning landscapes.
On the highway from St George to Moab
On the first ride in Utah on the Captain Ahab trail outside of Moab
A large canyon separates Captain Ahab to a winding back country road.
Little blue marks guide the way through the slick rock on the trails in Moab.
At the top of Captain Ahab looking out to the magnificent landscape of Utah.

One of the main reasons I came to America was to do the “Whole Enchilada” trail just outside of Moab, Utah. The trail starts at 9500ft and climbs to Burro Pass at 11150ft. Trail length is 44km to the main road and 55km back to Moab township.

Left: Starting out with a drop off from the shuttle Right: looking down the trail that I walked up to get to the top of Burro cause the oxygen was so thin
About to begin the descent down the “Whole Enchilada”
About an hour into the descent.
Shade was limited and I took the opportunity when it presented itself.
Beautiful views on the descent and metres from death on some parts of the trail.
Bullshit smile. It was about 33 celsius at this point and about the halfway mark. I was starting to tire.
On to the Porcupine Rim

The Whole Enchilada took me 6 hours 16 minutes with 4 hours 14 mins being moving time. It’s a ride where you stop and take on food and soak up the views.

Typical setup. Tent, lock the bike to the camp table. Park City, Utah.
Park City Bike Park, Utah.
View up and down the chair lift enroute to the top of Park City Bike Park.
Deer Valley Resort, Park City, Bike Park
Looking out over Utah.
Some of the trails are nice and wide and really allow to pick up some serious pace on the descents.
Big flowing trails with huge berms on Holy Roller trail at Deer Valley.

Wyoming

I came to Wyoming to ride Grand Targhee Bike Park but it wasn’t to be. The cloud cover on the top of mountain forced the bike park to stay closed. Prior to coming I watched a video Australian mountain legend Jared Graves of riding some trails just outside of Jackson Hole. You park at the top of the pass between Jackson Hole and Victor and ride the trails down the mountain that run parallel to the mountain pass. Go to the stagecoach at the bottom and hitch hike back up to the top. Repeat.

Some rain had passed over earlier making the trails ripe for riding. A nice change from the hot dusty conditions of California and Utah.
Some great jumps, all with B lines. Extremely well built and one of my favourite trails of the trip.
Left: These local lads knew how to ride and Max went so fast down the trails he didn’t even need a chain on his bike. Right: Soaking up the scenery.
Stellar views down the valley towards Jackson Hole.
These lads went big over these jumps.
Berms and flowing jumps. No pedal strokes need for majority of the trail. Fast, fun and technical in parts. Everything you want in a trail.

While I was in Wyoming I went to one of the most famous National Parks in the world — Yellowstone National Park. On the drive up in the morning I was spoilt by the view of the Grand Tetons.

Bison in Yellowstone.
Geysers of Yellowstone.
More Geysers
Beautiful colours in Geysers
Vivid colours in geysers.
Overcast conditions for my time in Yellowstone.
Artist pools in Yellowstone.

Idaho

Sun Valley in Idaho wasn’t originally on my radar but lots of people along the way told me how good the riding was.

The signage of trails in America is incredible. It’s hard to get lost.
12.7km climb to get to the top of Curlys trail in Sun Valley.
Top of Curlys about to descend.
Sign says it all.
Galena Lodge, Ketchum, Idaho

It was nice to get back on the single tracks after spending time in a bike park.

Craters of the Moon Preserve and National Monument in Idaho

Oregon

I proceeded to head back towards West back to Oregon which is renowned for having amazing trails. It did not disappoint.

Phils Trail system with a great variety of trails for everyone. Twiddlywinks and Whoops are the best trails.
A sight so common over northern America. Lufthansa A340–600 heading back to Germany.

One of the trails I read about which is touted as the best in Oregon is the McKenzie River trail. It was absolutely stunning. A bit of hike and bike in some sections but the scenery was mind blowing.

Clearest waters I’ve seen in my life.
McKenzie River trail
Picture says it all
Blue pools are just stunning.
The trail smooths out after 15km.
Volcanic rock for miles
Narrow roads from Sisters to Lake McKenzie river trail.

After speaking with two guys I went to a town called Oakridge in Oregon. Tiny town but with some kick ass trails mostly accessed by shuttle. Sounded perfect to me. The Alpine Trail is the flagship trail of Oakridge.

Oregon Adventures is the company who runs the shuttles in the area.
Views for days.
Stunning greenery in Oregon.

The Alpine Trail was my favourite of my trip. It wasn’t a ball buster and the views were scenic. It was fast, long and fun!

Crater Lake, Oregon

California

My last trail of my trip was the Downieville Classic. Almost all downhill with a few short sharp uphills but nothing too strenuous. It was too fast stop most of the ride and I had a long drive ahead so I really tried to get down as quick as possible with only one photo taken which is below.

Nearing the base of Downieville Classic.

The last of my time was spent in Los Angeles catching up with my long time friend and great friend Jonnie. Great to see you buddy!

Standing on top of Hollywood with downtown in the background.

I decided to treat myself a helicopter flight over LAX to finish the trip off. The pilot, Paul Cass from Star Helicopters said we had the best visibility all year when we went up.

Venice and Santa Monica, Los Angeles.
Hollywood sign in the left
Downtown Los Angeles, California
Standard traffic for Los Angeles at all hours of the day.

Thanks America.

--

--