Is Each Generation of Starter Pokemon Stronger Than The Last?

Jewel Brown
2 min readDec 11, 2017

--

If you’re like me, you’ve thought about this question too. I wanted to explore this further, so I made an application consisting of only the starter Pokemon, including Pikachu because it felt incomplete without a Pikachu.

You can sort the Pokemon list alphabetically or by their number, height, weight, base health power, attack, and defense levels. You can also filter them by type and generation. This app allows you to look at the stats of multiple Pokemon side by side, allowing for easy comparison. While a Pokedex has this data and more, I wanted to investigate the Pokemon that every Pokemon player has interacted with. I chose to only use their most basic stats at their base level to show that maybe, the later the Pokemon was discovered, the stronger they would be. Overall, I wanted users to have a place to explore any trends amongst starter Pokemon, or just to look at them all in one place! While I didn’t find any trend that would suggest that each generation had a stronger group of starter Pokemon, it is still fun to explore the start of the many different generations of Pokemon. Here’s a link to my app in case you missed it earlier, https://jbrown2.github.io/Starter-Pokemon-App/!

--

--