Roman Forum & Palatine Museum [ Sep 2016 ]

Heart pirate
6 min readOct 10, 2018

--

After having farewell with my b.f in Athens airport, I’ve arrived Rome, then he came back UK where his family had been visited for traveling with him in London. So a week had gone in 3 cities which were Prague, Dubrovnik, Athens n then starting now about my story in Italy.

========================================

As soon as I arrived at Rome, after check-in my hostel near by station ‘Termini’. About 12~13 , The host recommended this Chinese restaurant for me cuz of so starving in this morning.

Total : 13.75 euro. ( For 2 plates)

To be honest, the 1st one ( photos) was good taste for me, but that noodle was shxx more than I expected.

========================================

As a first day, was good starting point from my hostel with nice weather cuz of closed to any historical mark n market n mall.

‘Basilica Papale di Santa Maria Maggiore’

Piazza di S. Maria Maggiore, 42, 00100 Roma RM

Landmark papal basilica founded in the 5th century & known for its Roman mosaics & gilded ceiling.

As well known, The Roman forum has been popular with everyone in the world like many historical mark in Paris. Many Roman Forum spots are located in downtown anywhere.

========================================

‘Baths of Trajan’

Historic ruins of a large Roman bath complex originally built in the 2nd century CE.

The Baths of Trajan were a massive thermae, a bathing and leisure complex, built in ancient Rome starting from 104 AD n dedicated during the Kalends of July in 109.

From my hostel to the end point, most of all spots were closed by to by which means were able to look for next places easily which means I was lucky.

========================================

‘Colosseum’

Piazza del Colosseo, 1, 00184 Roma RM

The Colosseum or Coliseum, also known as the Flavian Amphitheatre, is an oval amphitheatre in the centre of the city of Rome, Italy.

Colosseo is one of the most famous attraction of historical-mark for tourist which is I’ve read n heard books from childhood or broadcast or TV show n my sn feed.

Built of travertine, tuff, and brick-faced concrete, it is the largest amphitheatre ever built. The Colosseum is situated just east of the Roman Forum.

========================================

I had a discount ticket for student ( Total : 12 euro )

The Roman Forum is next to ‘Colosseo’ about 5 min by walking. If u’re a student or visa, u can have a discount ticket about 14~15 euro which is combo ticket for 2 days I memorize

I could see Colosseum in Roman Forum.

One of my Italian closed friends from EF told me about this area ‘The Roman Forum’ is the most important part in Rome or Italy (even Europe) cuz there’s much complicated history with the other countries since AD 100~200.

I didn’t expect much like these…also as soon as I had arrived at Rome, in a couple of hrs, the greatest historical sites I’ve visited. That’s it.

Vast excavated area of Roman temples, squares & government buildings, some dating back 2,000 years

Even almost of all were ruined by enemies or war during the world 1~2, it has been deserved so much it since we had protected for a long time ago.

Also known by its Latin name Forum Romanum, is a rectangular forum surrounded by the ruins of several important ancient government buildings at the center of the city of Rome.

Citizens of the ancient city referred to this space, originally a marketplace, as the Forum Magnum, or simply the Forum

Compared with our culture of historical mark which were burned by war n Mongolian about a thousand ago, most of all were gone or ruined already.

So we have not nothing sites to protect n show anything for the world tourists.

Walking on steps from the bottom, was hot here but not so much cuz of short storm & heavy rainy like shower was coming soon….That’s why the sky was gloomy when I was walking this sites….

‘Palatine Museum on Palatine Hill’

Guided tours are available of the archaeological site housing the ruins of ancient imperial palaces.

As well known, whether most of all Asians knew it b4 or not, If u visit this area one day, u had better know their story b4 starting ur holidays I recommend as whole of my experience.

B4 arriving at this top of the hill, I didn’t know how high this steps as I could see downside like that one.

As I look down the whole of those view, couldn’t be surprised for anyone if u’re visited just once which means damn super cool area.

If I say to regret just one in this site, hmm…I should learn n study about Roman Forum b4 visiting this site.

In my case, after visiting at first day, I searched on google about Roman Forum.

These sites told us ( who is all of our human in this world) that any war made us painful , not peaceful , to protect themselves who they loved someone’s like family. ( excepting for natural ruined..)

How wonder this places~!! Even it had been gone already 2 thousands ago, it’s already standing for us like waiting for long time ago.

After finishing just this area ‘Roman Forum’, saying my thought, it was damn super cool places for tourist or probably all of the human who would been visited once b4 or soon…I’m pretty sure about it.

========================================

Contrast to our culture from my individual thought, we need to find out our old history n protect as very well like those, don’t we?? if we want to make a deal , eh?

--

--