Gadfly, the Wisest Man: Part 3 (B)

Fernando Soledad
7 min readMay 4, 2023

--

The death of Socrates | Jacques Louis David

B: Alcibiades House

Many years before Socrates’ death

There are Crito, Aristipo, Alcibiades, Plato, Glaucon, Simmias, Cebes and male dancers

ALCIBIADES

(Salutes Crito)

I salute you, Crito, my good friend.

Didn’t Socrates come with you?

CRITO

O Alcibiades, behind me was a few moments,

I think he stayed near the entrance in abstraction.

You know how he gets lost in his thoughts alone.

It should not take long for him to come and join us.

ALCIBIADES

Crito, the guests have arrived for a long time.

Everyone is waiting for Socrates inside.

Go for him at once, I insist,

To start the symposium and celebration.

CRITO

On another occasion, there would be no wish granted,

But because you own the house,

I’ll go get our friend.

(Crito goes for Socrates who is in the pensive entrance)

DAEMON

Are you ready for the bustle?

SOCRATES

Why do you show affliction?

From time to time a break is needed.

DAEMON

A sigh yes, but this is filled with drunks.

Xanthippe is sometimes right.

SOCRATES

Don’t you see that friendship is one of the greatest relievers?

Moreover, because of Them it was said:

<<In all places and times they have a presence>>, they said.

Disposition comes first.

DAEMON

Bah, Socrates! You’re so ingenious.

Sometimes your reasoning seems more eristic than philosophical.

SOCRATES

Rather, dear friend, you are very rigid.

Not everything must be a brave altercation.

Fun and contemplation contain the same wisdom and knowledge.

Either way we enter the party,

It’s up to you whether you do it willingly or indisposed.

I encourage you to come in,

But for you I do not decide.

DAEMON

You provide me with a fictitious choice,

But I’ll play along.

SOCRATES

I’m glad you came to your senses, my good man…

(Crito appears)

CRITO

Socrates, Alcibiades insists that you go inside,

All the guests have been waiting for you for a long time.

Are you ready?

SOCRATES

One does not prepare, Crito. One decides to be ready.

CRITO

Then we will go.

SOCRATES

Behind you I go, friend.

(Al Daemon)

Are you coming with me?

DAEMON

Yes, Socrates, I’m coming with you.

(They enter Alcibiades’ house. Everyone welcomes Socrates with joy. Some come to receive him, others remain with their glasses talking)

ALCIBIADES

Xairo, Socrates. Welcome always, dear.

GLAUCON

Greetings, O Socrates. Your presence always causes joy.

SIMMIES AND BAITS

Congratulations, Socrates! Come on in and be welcome.

ARISTIPPUS

Socrates, come in. Come in and sit with me.

(The guests fight to give Socrates a place next to them. Socrates decides to sit on a couch near the host)

SOCRATES

The pleasure, colleagues, will always be mine.

ALCIBIADES

O Socrates, you perpetually show yourself very worthy.

Eat, drink, my home is yours. Take anything from here without fear.

I, myself, are included in that offer.

SOCRATES

I am very grateful to you.

For now, I will start with some bread and wine.

DAEMON

That wine looks and smells great.

SOCRATES

(Al Daemon)

I see that you have come to your senses.

I will drink to our gloating.

DAEMON

Yes, yes, your point has been made.

SOCRATES

O dear friends, I am ashamed of my tardiness,

Keep me posted on what happened at the celebration.

ARISTIPPUS

Bah, Socrates! Your presence inflames the jubilee.

Besides, for a wise man like you it does not matter when you have come,

With you there is no late or early, you arrive on time.

GLAUCON

You speak well, Aristipo.

We were talking and rejoicing in peace.

Each one throws out his reasoning with pleasure.

For the moment, we admired the dancers.

Of course, some more than others, right, friend?

(Aristippus blushes)

ARISTIPPUS

What happens, Glaucon, is that I know how to admire beauty.

These dancers represent it well with their movements.

SOCRATES

I would like to hear more of your speech about beauty.

Tell me, Aristippus, what is beautyfor you?

(Aristippus blushes more)

DAEMON

Don’t start, Socrates, and disturb the serenity.

You were coming for a break, give the kid a break.

SOCRATES

It’s a little joke, Aristippus

Don’t blush anymore and sit down with me.

(Aristippus sits next to Socrates)

ARISTIPPUS

O Socrates, beauty is like the boy who dances.

DAEMON

(Through Socrates)

O Aristippus, but does that boy exhaust beauty?

SOCRATES

What would she be compared to Terpsichore, goddess of dancing?

DAEMON

(Through Socrates)

We call many beautiful things like this wine glass.

SOCRATES

That in comparison with the boy, it is less beautiful.

DAEMON

(Through Socrates)

But the boy parallel to Terpsichore, is less beautiful.

SOCRATES

What is beautiful, Aristippus?

(Aristippus blushes more)

GLAUCON

Ha, ha, what you say, Socrates, brings back memories.

In fact Plato made a small writing about it.

Remember when you talked to Hippias about beauty?

Well Plato, he wrote it and I think it was well done.

SOCRATES

O Plato, are these other of your dialogues to extol my ego?

That you haven’t told many lies again, I hope.

Tell us what you put in your writing.

DAEMON

Come on, Socrates, don’t be a pain in the ass with the kid.

I find his dialogues very good and striking.

(Plato responds head down)

PLATO

Oh m-master, I think I-I’ve lost that o-one.

GLAUCON

Brother, don’t be withdrawn.

Can’t you see it’s a joke?

Come and come with me.

Let’s drink together and be happy.

(Glaucon embraces Plato, who is more relieved by the gesture)

SOCRATES

Looking at the dancers, I think you’re right, Aristippus.

Not so much in the kids,

But in the dance itself.

If it is not impertinent, I will dance with them.

ALCIBIADES

Yes, Socrates, please delight us with your flowery show.

(Socrates stops to dance, moves roughly but with joy. Some mock him)

SOCRATES

Join in, Aristippus, and don’t be shy.

Come and dance with me.

To Terpsichore let’s flatter and imitate.

(Aristippus is reluctant about the penalty, but is incited by those present until he gives in. Socrates and Aristippus dance, until Socrates is exhausted and returns to his place)

DAEMON

What freedom of spirit, Socrates, you make me wish I had a body.

ALCIBIADES

O Socrates, all your moving awakens in me desires.

I don’t know if it’s the alcohol or your dancing, but you make me fall in love.

DAEMON

There he goes again with the same offer.

You are, Socrates, very seductive to everyone,

Gods and men break their backs to be with you.

If Hades could not tempt you, how will Alcibiades achieve conviction?

ALCIBIADES

Socrates, please come live with me.

My home is big and I can give you shelter without any problem.

You don’t even have to live in here,

I can give you some of the land as a gift,

So that you can have your home and enjoy my assets,

With full freedom and without a price to pay.

DAEMON

Everything in this world has a price.

The price is that you give Xanthippe your retirement.

SOCRATES

O Alcibiades, my love for you I never deny,

More of your proposal for two reasons I resist:

I have resistance to the terrain,

If I needed shoes, to make them, would you give me a whole leather?

ALCIBIADES

Socrates, I don’t understand you.

I am only making you an offer.

SOCRATES

It will be another time.

But tell me, Alcibiades, if with you to live I come,

I would leave my wife and children behind.

ALCIBIADES

Ah, Socrates, that’s not really a price.

Xanthippe only insults you and gives you denials.

With me, beloved, you will never have contempt,

Even from me you won’t get shouted at.

SOCRATES

O Alcibiades, I reject your proposal and I want you to understand this:

I am used to hearing the shrill sound of the pulley at every moment;

Just as you, of the geese, tolerate their quacking.

ALCIBIADES

But the geese raise other geese and lay eggs.

SOCRATES

This discussion, Alcibiades, leads nowhere.

I love Xanthippe, my children too.

Moreover, she offers me something that even the divine genius cannot.

DAEMON

I totally agree with you.

SOCRATES

Xanthippe has a brave and daring spirit,

For that very reason, there will never be a better opposite.

ALCIBIADES

O Socrates, your rejection increases my desire.

My proposal to you has no expiration date.

If at any time you wish, you are welcome to join me.

SOCRATES

The offer, Alcibiades, I appreciate it.

That we leave the subject I ask

And let’s focus on the celebration.

ALCIBIADES

I understand well what you are saying, dear.

Everybody, listen to me, outside there are some warriors waiting for us,

They will offer us a show in the form of a game,

I invite you to come outside.

(Everyone agrees and goes out to watch the show. Socrates remains seated and Alcibiades notices)

ALCIBIADES

Will you join us in the entertainment?

SOCRATES

I’ll catch up with you in a few moments.

ALCIBIADES

Let it be what you consider to be your favorite.

(Leaves)

DAEMON

From the banquet you were stunned.

SOCRATES

Yes, I require a few moments so I collect myself.

DAEMON

I think everyone is already very drunk,

Except you, who has a resistance to being drunk.

Did the courtship tire you out?

SOCRATES

Also the excess of sound.

I was stunned,

But it hasn’t stopped me from gloating.

DAEMON

I think it’s time to go then.

If you are tired, don’t stop at the layoffs.

They will understand and continue the celebration.

SOCRATES

You always help me see the right thing.

I am grateful to have you as a friend.

DAEMON

Come on, Socrates, it’s time.

Together we will leave.

(Socrates leaves in silence)

Previous:

Next:

Index:

--

--