July 14th: Weekly Design Links

“Real knowledge is to know the extent of one’s ignorance.” — Confucius

I’ve come to the conclusion that this new layout stinks. I’m also going to move this post from Fridays, where everyone is mentally exhausted from the week to the more hopeful and receptive Tuesday. Here’s a glimpse at the data. A while back I had a few great weeks of reads (in cyan) and the reading percentage (purple/blue line) was fairly high with the old format. Then on 6/23 I started this new format and the reading percentage has dropped and continues to drop.

So, on Tuesday I’ll post (a shorter) links and then move on from there with a new format. If you love links, go to CreativeLinks.club and sign up for the daily email list.



Graphic Design




A Sustainable House Inspired by Case Study Houses and Eichler

Link Summary

Run the Jewels Go Claymation in “Don’t Get Captured”• https://www.juxtapoz.com/news/music/watch-run-the-jewels-go-claymation-in-don-t-get-captured-video/

Famous Brands Logo Animations • https://www.behance.net/gallery/53980217/Famous-Brands-Logo-Animations

To Look at Paweł Mildner, Titan of Polish Illustration, is to Fall in Love with Paweł Mildner, Titan of Polish Illustration • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/to-look-at-pawel-mildner-titan-of-polish-illustration-is-to-fall-in-love-with-pawel-mildner-titan-of-polish-illustration

New Maurice Sendak Picture Book Discovered • http://www.coolhunting.com/link/maurice-sendak-lost-book-published

Falling Girls • https://www.behance.net/gallery/54543781/Falling-Girls

Illustration & CGI: Kiplinger Magazine Spread • http://abduzeedo.com/illustration-cgi-kiplinger-magazine-spread

Polymorph Chair Combines Two Design Concepts into One Chair • http://design-milk.com/polymorph-chair-combines-two-design-concepts-into-one-chair

de Dolomieu BLOCK Statuario Marble MacBook Stands • http://design-milk.com/de-dolomieu-block-macbook-stand/

The BMW i8 Roadster Teases It’s Taking Its Top Down • http://design-milk.com/bmw-i8-roadster/

Graphic Design
These Minimalist Geometric Poster Designs Look Like They’re Popping Off The Paper • http://linxspiration.com/post/162672074998/these-minimalist-geometric-poster-designs-look

Design by Toko • http://www.grainedit.com/2017/07/05/design-by-toko/

New alphabet prints feature band logos instead of letters • http://www.creativebloq.com/news/new-alphabet-prints-feature-band-logos-instead-of-letters

Computerized Forms • http://computerizedforms.com/

The UX of Virtual Identity Systems • https://uxdesign.cc/the-ux-of-virtual-identity-systems-584fd83f04ff

Dropdown alternatives for better (mobile) forms • https://medium.com/@kollinz/dropdown-alternatives-for-better-mobile-forms-53e40d641b53

Booking.com — UX Analysis and Responsive Redesign • https://uxdesign.cc/booking-com-ux-analysis-and-responsive-redesign-5854d616c0b8

Sketch Vs. Photoshop: The 5 Things Sketch Can Do That Photoshop Can’t • https://www.invisionapp.com/blog/sketch-vs-photoshop

A Framework for Measuring Design Maturity • https://uxdesign.cc/a-framework-for-measuring-design-maturity-8fdb578e82c

Colorgorical • http://vrl.cs.brown.edu/color

Twin Skulls Transform the Facade of this 19th Century French Castle • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/07/twin-skulls-transform-the-facade-of-this-19th-century-french-castle/

Towering New Mixed Media Portraits by Andrew Salgado • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2017/07/new-mixed-media-portraits-by-andrew-salgado

Illustrator Baptiste Virot is Translating His Love of the ’80s for a New Audience • https://eyeondesign.aiga.org/illustrator-baptiste-virot-is-translating-his-love-of-the-80s-for-a-new-audience

A Sustainable House Inspired by Case Study Houses and Eichler • http://design-milk.com/a-sustainable-house-inspired-by-case-study-houses-and-eichler