Let No Fence Divide Us

Jason Galisatus
2 min readOct 12, 2018

--

Chris and I would like to take a moment to appreciate the outpouring of love and support following an ugly incident in which the fence outside our bedroom window was tagged with a homophobic slur scrawled beneath a posted campaign sign which had been torn down. I also would like to thank the Redwood City Police Department for their sensitivity and responsiveness in investigating this matter.

This has been unsettling, but I want to be clear: we will not be intimidated. It is our duty as City leaders to be outspoken to ensure that all residents of Redwood City are treated with dignity and respect.

Our campaign is about giving every generation, every neighborhood, and every person in our community a voice. Every Redwood City resident should have a roof over their head that will not break the bank. Every Redwood City resident deserves to get around town safely, efficiently, and affordably. Every child deserves an excellent education.

On the City Council I will work to ensure that our seniors can comfortably age in place and access City services and amenities. I will work for women to feel safe and empowered. I will work for our Latino community to be represented and treated equitably. I will work to ensure that both longtime and new residents are heard at City Hall.

I speak out about what happened, because I want to send a message that in Redwood City, you belong. We will let no fence divide us, and this incident will not define us.

No matter your background, I will represent you on the City Council.

--

--