Jean Orelien
8 min readApr 17, 2020

What I Would Want to See Before I Die: A Revolution in How We Educate

Recently, on April 4th, I turned 50. At this age, I face the realization that I am without any doubt at or past the half-point of my life. This realization has brought a lot of thoughts to mind as to what is next for me and what I would like to see in the world before I die.

Here is my dream: I would like to see education revolutionized. I dream of a world where the educational system equips students to live life — as opposed to earning a living. For centuries, we have sent kids to school to gain knowledge primarily to prepare them to become a professional — someone able to become skilled in a trade or profession that he or she can earn income from. It is as if having a successful life is dependent on earning as much as one can or achieving the highest echelon in one’s profession. If schools are not going to teach us to be successful in life, where else should students learn these skills? At home? Other institutions, perhaps churches? I posit that the school should play a major role in teaching students how to craft a successful life.

First, I will start with the premise that each individual is imbued with unique skills; that there will never be another version of this individual in the universe, and as such this individual has a “universe DNA” that can never be replicated in someone else. This universe DNA is different than our biological DNA. When this universe DNA is fully expressed, we live as whom we were created to be, and thus our contribution to society and the universe is optimized. The role of society, including parents and schools, should be to ensure that everyone’s universe DNA is fully expressed.

Instead of explaining what is meant by one’s universe DNA being fully expressed, let me address how this dream could be achieved. In addition to general education, schools should focus on two goals: helping students to know themselves (Know thyself) and helping students to know how they impact others. With these two outcomes, I believe that students would be able to understand their purposes in life, or, what is referred to in some cultures as their “dharma.” Students would discover what they are passionate about in life, what brings them happiness, and how their unique talents and can make a difference in the lives of others.

What does this mean specifically in terms of instruction?

I am not advocating that schools shouldn’t teach reading, writing, math, history, or how to think logically. Yes, these skills are needed. It is these very skills that must be used by students to learn that they are more than their ability to think (i.e., the cogito ergo sum) or what they know. These skills are the necessary foundations for learning principles that I will enunciate later, and that should be in place by the time that young sapiens reach high school (by age 12 to 14).

Once in high school, I believe that kids should become equipped to explore who they are and how they impact the world and should be given tools to function effectively in group settings. Yes, we can learn tools to be effective in groups and adapt these tools based on who we are. Learning who we are is a life-long process. It only ends with our death. Why would high school be too early?

Below are some concepts that I believe we should impart to students in high school. This is by no means a complete list.

a) Assess Personality Types

These assessment tools would go beyond the Myers-Briggs assessment, which I know is often administered. Other tools that are used in a work setting environment should also be considered, such as DISC 2.0, Culture Index or Strength Finder. The personality assessment tool that I believe is the most wholesome and should always be included in addition to the ones mentioned earlier is Enneagram. If you want to learn more about the enneagram, I suggest the book by Riso and Hudson, “The Wisdom of the Enneagram.”

These tools are useless unless enough time is spent with students to relate to them what their assessments mean in terms of how they communicate with others, how others communicate based on their personality, what their default behaviors are during stressful times, and what their strengths and weaknesses are.

b) Explore Ego

One of the constants to all humans is that at some point in their lives they develop an Ego. I believe every human being is born as an innocent child, where it sees no evil, hears no evil, loves, and feels loved. At some point, it realizes that something is wrong with the world and develops a coping mechanism, which leads to the creation of its ego. Some, like me, may become something of a control freak and try to control their surroundings, others may become compliant, or focus on relationships (not an exhaustive list; you get the picture). High school, when kids are dealing with issues of identity and belonging, is the perfect time for them to explore conversations about their egos.

c) Limiting Beliefs

For all of us human beings, one thing that keeps us from advancing is our own set of limiting beliefs. This is not something that we deal with and we are done. These limiting beliefs are constantly with us. As part of exploring the Ego, high school students should be introduced to the concept and can discuss their unique limiting beliefs with each other and instructors.

d) Communication

No matter what profession we choose in life unless we become a hermit, we need to communicate. A key to effective communication is knowing how we process information and how others receive information. The way everyone listens is tied to their personality type and, more individually, their Ego. Learning how others listen can help us speak to a receiver’s unique hearing, as opposed to how we would prefer to receive information ourselves.

e) Being Effective in Groups

We are social beings. We need to interact with others. I believe that every individual can be a leader. For all individuals, there is a type of group that each is best equipped to lead (there are groups that respond better to one’s style of leadership versus others) and there is a type of contribution (role) that each usually plays in a group. For example, I know some folks in my family and my business circles who have outstanding people skills. They are the type of individuals everyone wants to be friends with. People would do anything to please them. These are the individuals you want to lead any project that requires repetitive or difficult tasks because you know the team will do what it takes for them. If I wanted someone to lead a call center or a sales team, these are the types of individuals I would hire. On the other hand, there are individuals in a team are the ones who are best at taking on the role of “strategists”. They are the ones likely to help find a solution and formulate a plan to execute. Often these individuals are the wrong ones to oversee the implementation of that plan.

Finally, there are some principles that govern groups and techniques that can help a group to be most effective. Many of these principles are laid out in an excellent book by my friend Chris McGoff: “The Primes: How any Group can Solve any Problem.” I recognize that the concept of being effective in a group is probably one of the more challenging concepts to start learning in high school. Students first need to know about themselves before knowing how they can be effective in a group. This concept should be introduced to high school-aged students, and then intensified at the college level.

f) Meditation

In his book “Tools of Titans,” Tim Ferriss indicated that 80% of the interviewees of his podcast (which includes business leaders, artists, athletes, and entertainers) at the top of their field practice some daily form of meditation or mindfulness. Personally, I don’t think that the type of meditation matters. If we knew something worked for 80% of people who have achieved mastery, why would we not at least try it? Why not introduce various forms of meditation and mindfulness practices around the age of high school?

g) Resilience

In life, it is a given that each of us will face adversity, whatever our social or economic background. Why would we not equip people to deal with adversity as early as possible? For me, one of the concepts that have been most helpful is “stoicism.” I discovered stoicism philosophy by accident when I stumbled upon the book, “The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius.”

As I write this, my heart breaks at the news that two cadets at the Air Force Academy took their life during the COVID-19 pandemic. I wonder how many college students and young professionals who are going to be overwhelmed by the uncertainty due to this unprecedented event may be led to despair, or worse, go as far as giving up on life.

The question is, who will teach these concepts? Teachers as part of pedagogy are not even trained in these skills and concepts, let alone on how to train others in them. An approach might be to create a category of teachers who are “life coaches.” Perhaps student counselors could fulfill some of this role of life coaching.

I hope it’s obvious that the type of concepts I outlined above cannot be offered in a large classroom setting with 30 or more students. I’m thinking that some of these concepts will need to be in small group settings, ideally with around 15 students, so that there is enough one-on-one time with each other.

Finally, I want to stress that I don’t see these principles and skills as merely a semester or a year-long course. What needs to change is our philosophy and approach to education. Our school system needs to stop preparing excellent athletes for the “rat race” (whatever it conjures for you). We need school systems that prepare individuals to be the best humans that they can be — that is the way to create happy individuals who can contribute their best to their communities and humanity.

P.S. — Recently, my cousin Josette, who is an educator, shared with me her reading list. I suggested that the reading list should include the following books: “Teaching Kids to Succeed in the Life Journey,” “Transforming Our Education System to Develop Better Humans,” “Teaching Kids to Know Themselves” and “Teaching Kids to be Powerful in Groups.” She asked me where she could get these books but did not realize that these titles were from the trickster in me. Friends, these books have not yet been written. Do you think it would be worthwhile to write them? At my age, I would like to see things done with me putting as little effort as possible. If the ideas of these books existing appeal to you or you would like to take a lead in writing them or contributing to them, would you please drop me a note? I’m happy to help.

Jean Orelien

I am an entrepreneur who is passionate about helping everyone reach their full potential. Be best!