What I Learned from Building a Supreme Bot in College

James Hoffman
4 min readSep 6, 2018

My friend told me that people were making lots of money by reselling Supreme clothing. They were also selling bots that would allow people to consistently buy the items from the online store so they could resell them elsewhere. I decided that I wanted to make one for fun and see what could come out of it.

For those that don’t know the “Supreme Culture”, it’s a clothing company in which they have a small amount of inventory for their extremely sought after items. Therefore they sell out online in less than 10 seconds and resell on other websites for a lot more.

I was a sophomore computer science major, looking for projects to work on so my mission was to make a supreme bot that would be as fast or faster than the current bots. I wasn’t planning on showing it employers at the moment.

I also made a sketch about a time this went very poorly here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHAAoAQoVzo

I found a code library online that allowed me to search through the site’s source code (called html) and could read through things like an item’s title (such as “floral tee”). I also found a code library that I could use to put words into the text boxes, such as addresses or payment info. I combined these two and came up with a searching algorithm to find the items I wanted quickly. Over the…

--

--

James Hoffman

I do this for fun. I am currently a software engineer in NYC and felt like I use this to relax sometimes.