Top 4 Places You Must Visit in Marrakech

John Willams
4 min readDec 18, 2015

--

Are you a bold and an adventurous traveler? Would you count yourself among those always on the lookout for a bit of luxury? Marrakech, or the “red city” has a lot to offer to every type of traveler. Recognised as Morocco’s top tourist destination, Marrakech has been witnessing a major chunk of tourists taking flights to Marrakech from far and wide letting them seek pleasure hidden in every corner of the city. It’s one such destination that has been on the bucket list of every passionate traveler looking forward to dig every inch of history.

The major city of Morocco has been blessed with rich history that seems more than a millennium old, so if you are the one who just cannot do without taking a journey back in time, Marrakech is the place to be.

There’s something that I’d like to say the day Marrakech did not convince me to get on board the British Airways flight taking to the air from London Gatwick, but rather I felt compelled to have made my way to the African city that seemed so overwhelming to me in the beginning I could not get out of my head.

Well, I knew that Marrakech, being an extremely popular destination for an ideal holiday, would be tempting tourists to look for cheap flights to Marrakech from London ahead of time, and I could not have afforded losing the deal that seemed easy on my pocket. Though I was offered the best deals on flights to this amazing African town by skyscanner, last minute, expedia, and other travel comparison search engines, I wasn’t satisfied with their prices. A friend of mine who’s been traveling frequently recommended me compareandfly.com and I got what I wanted.

Well, it’s time for me to get you familiar with some of the top attractions in Moroccan town.

1. Explore the Souks

There are various types of souks in the city of Marrakech. They can be selling incredible antique doors for thousands of pounds to handmade Berber blankets, spices and mint tea. Moreover, you can also find hand-carved ornaments and trinkets. You cannot afford to miss the spice shops, which are a particular highlight, serving highly fragrant mint tea, frankincense and a lot more.

2. Admire a Thousand-year Old History and Architecture

History buffs never miss out on cheapest flights to Marrakech due to its incredible olden times. The whole Medina is bursting with historical tales depicting its rich past. From the well-known Koutoubia Mosque built in the 12th century at Djemma el Fna to the Ben Youssef Medrassa Islamic College, the architectural beauty in the city is simply attention-grabbing.

3. A Stay in a Traditional Riad in the Medina is Wise

While there are several posh resorts and hotels in Marrakech, but they would not make you feel as if you’ve really taken a journey back in time. The complex carvings and embellishments will take your breath away. And the giant wooden doors will keep you away from the street chaos.

4. Feel Some Traditional Moroccan Art and Music

Speaking of Moroccan culture, art and music are two components that can never be ignored. The history of Marrakech has been attracting artists and musicians from all over. The Marrakech National Festival of the Popular Arts and The Marrakech Folk Music Festival should not be missed no matter what. Do check when these festivals are held.

--

--

John Willams

I am from London and I joined Medium to read and learn about things which I care about. You may find my posts interesting and if so, then let’s connect!