SSG 0.1V code review

Jia Hua Zou
2 min readSep 17, 2021

For my lab 1, I have to network through slack to find someone to review each other’s code. Le Minh Pham had kindly reach out to me to be a partner. We gave each other our repo and started testing.

Le Minh Pham’s SSG 0.1v

When I tested his SSG program it was nicely done. The code was easy to read and understand. There was a bug related to the option command. If the option input is followed up by incorrect characters, the program will still accept it. Issue

Over all the program is done very nicely.

My SSG 0.1v

When my code was tested. There was a lot of bugs. Issue 1. My title detection was detecting the whole file as a title. Instead of taking just the title encased in <h1>…</h1>, it would just take the entire text as the title. The reason why this bug happen is due to the wrong regex expression being used. Le minh had gave details to the problems and came up with some solution. It was a big help. Issue 2. There was an issue with my package.json file. When npm install is run, it would fail because it had the wrong version. At first I change the default version to “0.1v” in the package.json. I had to change it back to the original version in order to fix this problem.

In the end, fixing the bugs didn’t took too long thanks to Le minh’s feeback. It would have took me a while to find the bugs if I haven’t ask someone in Slack for a code review. I will know there are more bugs that will show up as I add more features to this project.

My github SSG repo: https://github.com/JiaHua-Zou/Jia_SSG

Le Minh’s SSG repo: https://github.com/lmpham1/cool_ssg_generator

--

--