Return of Cartoon Boats to the Tuanjiehu Park

Jian Xu
2 min readApr 22, 2023

--

As spring approaches, the lake water ripples, and the boats in Tuanjiehu Park are also preparing to set sail. Throughout the entire period of the pandemic, it seems like the sight of boats on Tuanjiehu Lake has been absent from memory. Now they have reappeared, a sign of revival.

With the help of Coach Mr.Xie, my son has slightly overcome his fear of deep water. Today, he went to the deep water area three times with his board. With both kids taking swimming lessons together, they motivate each other and it’s much more fun. My daughter is learning butterfly stroke, while my son is learning freestyle.

Since trying to take off my glasses, for such a long time, I rarely wear glasses unless I’m working, and I’ve gotten used to it. Today, I took my son to basketball class and shot some hoops in his basketball classroom. In the past, I would have definitely thought, “Where are my glasses? How can I shoot without clear vision?” But now, shooting baskets feels natural, and I don’t even realize that I’m not wearing my glasses.

I rode my bike, naked eye too, and took a photo of the neighborhood nearby my son’s school.

(week commencing 6 Mar 2023, by Jian Xu)

I keep an English diary recording China life and culture. You can access the full list here:

--

--

Jian Xu

China attorney passionate in sharing quotes, poems, prose, and passages from classical Chinese literature | My newsletter: https://chinathree.substack.com/