Curated Event Microsite

Jiao Wang
4 min readMar 16, 2020

--

Website for “ Festival der Riesendrachen”

Festival der Risendrachen

Introduction

This project is about to design a website for “Festival der Riesendrachen”. This festival happens every September in Berlin Tempelhofer Feld. It has no website but only a few posts in the U-Bahn station & newspaper. But it’s so famous that almost every Berliner knows.

The Festival Post (2019)

Research

Since I never went to this festival, I did some interviews with 10 people who actually went there. I got some really useful insights and also festival impression from them.

Insights:

  • They don't know the exact date when the festival holds. Cause it’s an outdoor event based on the weather situation.
  • They like to join the events with their family and friends also with their pets. But they want to know more information about things happened there. ( If they can bring their pets or if they have a kids playground)

Impressions:

Urban & outdoorsy, casual, playful, dynamic, surprising, chill, freedom, bright, joyful, colourful, cheerful, relaxing…

photo of the kites festival

Other event websites

Enable to get more ideas about the event website, I did an event website analysis. Cause there not so many event websites about Kites festival so I include the hot-ballon festivals and also music festivals.

some of my research:

Coachella music festival website
Balloon Fiesta website
Flying Carnival website

Solution

Based on my findings, I decided to create an MVP which focus on 2 parts

  • The “notify me” button under the main post in the Homepage( so visitors can fill in their email address enable for future exact date notification)
  • Map page( Let visitors know where happens what)

Branding solution — Based on my interviews, from the user’s impression. I want to keep this website: Colourful, cheerful also Urban & arty, so I made mood-board.

Mood-board

Hi-Fi Prototype

Mobile Version
  • Event post

I create the event post for 2020 on the homepage, the post includes the most important information: When, Where & What. So the organization can easily publish the same post in U-Bhan station & newspaper as they normally do.

  • Information

K-Kites

when hover you can see the photos of the past event.

I-Ideas

when hover you can see what this event for & what you can do and more.

T-Transportation

when hover you can see more information about how to get there and note about the parking.

E-Events

when hover you can see what other more events will happen there like firework & live music…

website for desktop screen
  • Discover page

Map overview of the event. So visitors can easily find what they looking for. Include: where to get food, where is the kid's playground, where to do a picnic, where’s god’s park, where is the kite area, where is the live music stage and emergency spot…

Hi-fi Prototype

Style Guide

Next step & Learning

  • Test test & test

Test with visitors, if all the information they need is here and if the information is clear for them.

  • Add Language selection
  • Low-fi came after contents and information architecture

Cause there are little contents I can find online about this event, I need to create my own contents and make it easy to understand for the user. So when I finished drawing my Low-fi I find out the content is not fit. In the end, I have to re-design the Low-fi.

  • Sketch & Principle ( design tool)

Sketch and Principle is such a great tool to use together but before export sketch file into Principle, the most important thing is to group everything and un detach from the symbol.

--

--