Seasonal Work: The Pros, The Cons and All That’s In Between

Jillian
10 min readJan 31, 2024
Yellowstone Lake sunrise from Gull point

This sort of nomadic type of lifestyle is providing a unique and easy way for people of all ages to explore the world and connect with other people. With so many opportunities to choose from, so much reward and so much sacrifice to consider, some insider information may do someone well.

My Story

The first seasonal job I had was when I was twenty years old and randomly stumbled across an opportunity to work for a few weeks in Yellowstone National Park. I worked for the helping hands program there. This is usually a program for older people to come and stay for a short period of time and work a part time position, but really it can be all ages. I worked at the lake village lodge as a house keeping helper from 8 am- noon, five days a week. This is something I would recommend considering for those who are a bit skeptical or don’t have too much leeway in timing/ leaving their life for long periods of time. I took a month off of work and was able to go right back to the job when I returned home. I will say, do not expect to make much money at all, I am talking like maaaaybe $300 every two weeks if you are lucky.

I went back to Yellowstone for a longer period of time during the 2022 season. I was there from July through the middle of October. This was an incredible experience with huge highs…

--

--

Jillian
0 Followers

Utilizing writing to express mind musings, soul callings, and all experiences of this life. Extremely not limited to one topic lol