I’m Aware That You Don’t Care

But it’s AAPI Heritage and Mental Health Awareness Month

Jillian Somera
2 min readMay 19, 2023
Me eating a lumpia snack

It’s not often that I have seen writing on the intersectionality between cultural identity and mental health issues. As a Filipino Guamanian American, I cover a lot of ground in diversity credits, trauma, and the ability to speak from personal experience on a vast range of topics.

And yet, society continues to marginalize my voice and diminish its importance in the landscape of what’s already been said and done before.

When your existence lacks points of reference, you get treated like a glitch in the Matrix.

But my experience is not a fluke.

My experience is, perhaps, the muted voice of a generation who ruined everything, from industry, to corporal punishment, and even economy.

The fact is, 13 years of therapy and devout practice of DBT have actualized a great deal of self-awareness that most of society does not share.

The isolating nature of a powerful piece of knowledge has empowered me with the powers of analyses.

Intergenerational trauma is why my immigrant family becomes anxious when we don’t have a plan.

--

--