Happy First Day of 2024

Anna Marie Lou
3 min readJan 1, 2024

--

Day 1 of my 31-day writing challenge. There’s always something new to talk about and learn every day.

This would be my first whole year on Medium. I don’t know Medium came to me but it all started last month, I’m drawn to all the topics that I’m interested in and enjoy reading other people’s knowledge and views about things that they share. I love the idea of sharing a little piece of things that they want other people to know.

I’m still in awe that I made my own Medium account and already shared some of my own content of interest. As a person who doesn’t talk a lot, I’ve always wanted to write my thoughts. Sometimes, it’s safer to be quiet, because if they do hear your thoughts, some people would misunderstood your point of view. Here on Medium, I am free to speak my mind. I preferred using my pseudonym in order to honor someone whom I know who was always curious about everything and sometimes, everyone.

Today, I’m going to start my own 31-day writing challenge as my first whole month on Medium. To me, January is always about the first of everything. So, I’ll do my best to keep up with one of the promises I made for this year. I don’t believe in New Year’s resolutions because some people are just good in the beginning and fail to complete their mission at the end. I’ll try to keep myself motivated in order to share my thoughts and experiences in life.

Day 1 of my 31-day writing challenge: Plans for this year

I love planning, it helps me organize the things that I needed to do and be happy when my mission is accomplished. Although, not all plans would go our way or that there’s always a good reason to change plans. The only thing I can do with whatever changes of plan is to work around these changes and try to get used with these changes because sometimes, you’ll never know that some of these changes could benefit us at the end.

This year, I have a handful of list of things that I wanted to do. I’m not sure if I could accomplish all of them, but I have to say this to myself that I have to be consistent with the things that I love to do and try not to get upset, if things aren’t working out, there’s always another way. Then if this other way is not working as well, then, I have to calm myself and stay in a quiet place for a while and regroup my thoughts. Sometimes, when you’re in a quiet state of mind, a spark of idea would come to mind.

It’s the first day of January, so, I’ll do the things that I needed to do first, like putting away the Christmas decorations, do more clean up and laundry which is a never-ending chores. After that, I make room to enjoy my alone time with my hobbies.

Have a wonderful 2024!

--

--

Anna Marie Lou

A Cebuana wife and mother. Expressing my random thoughts through words about everyday life.