Jim Brady
1 min readJul 15, 2015

--

Totally fair point, Veasey. I was a little too vague in what I meant when I wrote that. I have zero issue with strong photo galleries that tell a story and use that format to be able to show off the photos. We did a dozen of those every day when I was running washingtonpost.com. What I meant in my post was that we’re not going to take one of our “Who’s Next” lists of 15–20 young people changing Philly, and make a reader click through 15–20 individual pages to see the full list. That’s all about page views. The issue, to me, is when you create a slideshow purely for the page views without much concern about whether it’s easy for the reader. Well-edited photo galleries do not fall into that categoey at all. Thanks for making the point; I’m going to add a clarification to my original post.

--

--