An Apology

Jim fitzpatrick
2 min readJun 12, 2020

--

In the past several years I posted messages on my personal Twitter account criticizing Colin Kaepernick’s National Anthem protests. At the time, I saw the protest as disrespecting the American flag, a symbol that thousands of Americans have fought and died for. As a Vietnam-era veteran who lost many friends in that war, I reacted emotionally and off-the-cuff, without taking the time to hear Kaepernick’s crucial message.

I was wrong. My posts were insulting, and they disregarded the severe problem of police brutality toward black people in America. I regret that it took the recent tragic killing of George Floyd for me to understand.

I deeply and sincerely apologize for those messages and for the hurt I may have caused by posting them. Black lives absolutely matter. I support Kaepernick, and I support the peaceful protestors who are putting their safety at risk to make their voices heard. The reason I volunteered for military service was not for a flag or an anthem — it was to protect the freedom of speech for all Americans, and I will still defend that right with all my heart.

I know that racial equity is an ongoing struggle, and I am heartbroken by the pain that so many people of color are feeling right now. We all like to think that we have no racial bias. Unfortunately we’ve seen time and time again that without active work, it can sneak into your life. I just saw it in myself. I promise to not just listen and learn, but to actually hear and act.

San Diego Magazine is committed to highlighting a diverse set of voices from our community, and while we are currently operating with a reduced staff because of the coronavirus outbreak, as we expand and are able to begin hiring for new positions, I will ensure that our hiring practices seek to better represent the diversity of our great city.

My hope is that we can work together to heal, so one day all Americans will be able to take the same pride in our flag that I have always felt, because it represents one America in pursuit of social justice for all.

Sincerely,

Jim Fitzpatrick

--

--