Quotes From the Southern Favorite Steel Magnolias

Jim Harris-The Southern Voice
3 min readJun 21, 2024

--

Daddy always says “An ounce of pretension is worth a pound of manure.”

That sanctuary looks like it’s been hosed down with Pepto Bismol!

I’m not crazy, M’Lynn; I’ve just been in a very bad mood for 40 years!

I would rather have thirty minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothing special.

I’m just too colorful for words.

Laughter through tears is my favorite emotion.

Oh, get with it, Clairee. This is the ’80s. If you can achieve puberty, you can achieve a past.

Ouiser, you sound almost chipper. What happened today — you run over a small child or something?

Sammy’s so confused he don’t know whether to scratch his watch or wind his butt.

A dirty mind is a terrible thing to waste.

Ouiser, I’d recognize this penmanship anywhere. You have the handwritin’ of a serial killer.

Honey, time marches on, and eventually you realize it is marchin’ across your face.

The only thing that separates us from the animals is our ability to accessorize.

Ouiser could never stay mad at me; she worships the quicksand I walk on.

I love ya more than my luggage.

Now that is not true. When I was in school, a bunch of my friends and I would dress up as nuns and go bar-hoppin’.

These thighs haven’t gone out of the house without lycra on them since I was 14.

In a good shoe, I wear a size six, but a seven feels so good, I buy a size eight.

Louie brought his new girlfriend over, and the nicest thing I can say about her is all her tattoos are spelled correctly.

He’s a real gentleman! I bet he takes the dishes out of the sink before he pees in it!

There is no such thing as natural beauty.

You are too twisted for color TV!

Looks like two pigs fightin’ under a blanket.

The only reason people are nice to me is because I have more money than God.

“I don’t trust anybody that does their own hair. I don’t think it’s normal.”

I’m just screamin’ at my husband; I can do that any time!

I’m pleasant. Damn it! I saw Drum Eatenton this morning at the Piggly Wiggly, and I smiled at the son of a bitch ‘fore I couldn’t help myself.

M’Lynn, slap her! … We’ll sell t-shirts sayin’ ‘I Slapped Ouiser Boudreaux!’

Well, you know what they say: If you don’t have anything nice to say about anybody, come sit by me

--

--

Jim Harris-The Southern Voice

Jim Harris is a blogger chronicling all things Southern, a podcaster, public speaker, voiceover actor, author, business consultant, and digital course creator.