Jimmy Kim
2 min readSep 6, 2015

Vote for Plasma Membrane

  • Secretary of Defense

My name is the Plasma membrane and I am essentially the only candidate for Secretary of Defense. I am the protector of the body. Without me, there would be no cell.

There would be nothing to hold everyone and nothing to stop invaders from destroying all of the other organelles. I strictly regulate the border making sure only specific materials move in or out. In fact, in my purest form, I am very strict and let only a few things through.

I have proteins and channels to let other things through based on need. I do this with my unique defense design with a double layer of hydrophilic heads and a hydrophobic tail. I call my total tactic selective permeability.

Furthermore, I let our allies know that we are on their side by having specific receptors so that we aren’t accidentally attacked. Without me, you would have no structure and no defense, in other words, we wouldn’t exist. I protect our borders while bringing in food and getting rid of our wastes.

Last but not least, I create certain reactions in the cell. I know how to take messages from the outside and amplify the signal so that our cell knows what to do and when to do it. Without my secondary messenger proteins, how would we know when to change. Only I know how to defend, protect, and read outside messages for our cell.

Therefore, I should be the Secretary of Defense.