The hole in my heart is reopened

Jim Reeves
1 min readApr 12, 2017

--

What to do when the Mother of your children is dying?

My little Family in 1983

When I came home from work today, my son informed me that my Ex-Wife was told by her doctor today to ‘get her affairs in order’.

She and I were married in 1981 and stayed that way until 2004. Well, She actually decided She’d had enough of me and moved out 4 years earlier and never came back. We split our assets, I bought out our shared debt and kept the kids in our home. She started the long, hard process of starting over again and built a business from the ground up, married again, all while staying close and connected to our two teen-aged kids.

But the point of this isn’t the history. Well maybe that’s a part.

My point is, I’m crying as I write this. I’m feeling the same miserable hole in my heart open up that I felt the moment She told me we were done 17 years ago. I was sure I’d moved on, that I’d healed. I guess some kinds of love never die.

So what am I to do with these feelings now?

--

--

Jim Reeves

Dad and Grampa to two beautiful girls! Nothing else of importance.