Jim Sullivan
6 min readApr 28, 2019

Leica Q2

Leica Q2

Leica’s first generation Q was very successful. In fact, it has been one of their best sellers. When they announced their follow up, I was anxious to get my hands on one. I was eager to put it to use in Europe. I was very familiar with the original version after owning one. Trusting the Q2 for my first professional shoot in Europe was not a concern.

Cafe Bar du Bresil

First, let me mention that if you’re looking for a technical review on the specs, look elsewhere as there are more qualified sources for that. However, some of the noticeable improvements are the battery life (SL battery), quieter shutter, image quality (47mp), weather sealing, 4k video, and improved CMOS sensor.

Here are my impressions and how I used the Q2. Specifically for this trip, I focused using the new Q for my professional restaurant shoots. I also wanted to see how it did with street photography and some environmental portrait work thrown in for good measure.

Waiter at Cafe Flore

Paris is such an iconic city with its tremendous history, culture, art and obviously its food. Each of its 20 neighborhoods have their own unique feel to them. I spent most of my time in the 3rd and 5th districts with their twisty, tiny cobblestone streets. The buildings seem to tilt around each corner almost as to fall over at any given moment. This was my first time shooting here, so I was blown away by how much life and diversity there is to each of the neighborhoods. Within each arrondissement, Parisians have their own style and character. I was staying in more of the artsy districts where the likes of Oscar Wilde and Ernest Hemingway once frequented. Some locals fit the cliche of a Parisian, which as a photographer made for some great portraits.

One of the many cafes in Paris

Just like there is a Starbucks at every corner in America, there is a bustling cafe on every corner in Paris. Take for instance, Cafe Flore in the St Germain district. In the chilly spring air, locals were drinking coffee and smoking their cigarettes outside while making it look all so elegant. As if I were on a Jean Luc Godard film back in the 1960’s, I shyly approach a local man in my broken Frenglish with my Q2 in hand. He was dressed in a black velvet jacket with a purple scarf. He himself could have been a film director for all I knew. His air of confidence and “joie de vie”’ was impressive, if not slightly intimating. I was able to utilize the quiet shutter of the Q2 and rip off a few shutters knowing I had just nailed that portrait, “Merci monsieur!”

A local in the St Germain district

Doing street photography with the Q2 is almost too easy. The shutter noise is basically non existent and its realtively small size makes it extremely stealthy. By not having a large bulky DSLR, I am able to get up close to the market purveyors to converse with them. This aspect allows me the luxury to capture those candid moments with the greatest of ease, specifically the image of the Moroccan cook making the couscous at Marche des Enfants Rouges. The inconspicuous size and quietness of the Q2 allowed me to be perceived as a fan of the cooking process and not some annoying tourist.

Inside Marche des Infants Rouge

However, the main reason for my trip to Paris was for a new restaurant, INKA. It is inside 1K Paris, a boutique hotel with a Peruvian concept. In addition to the main restaurant INKA, there is a pisco bar, mezcaleria and a speakeasy bar. There are many different (and difficult) lighting situations inside 1K. The Q2’s new CMOS sensor and processor made shooting in low light situations a breeze. In looking at my food and cocktail images after slight edits in LightRoom, I feel they are as sharp (if not sharper) than my SL. It does take some getting used to the macro function on the Q2. Similarly, with portrait work, doing food and cocktail shoots takes some practice. However, once getting used to using the 28mm lens, it feels as if I am able to create a signature look.

Tuna Crudo at INKA

Barcelona

As Spain’s culinary epicenter, Barcelona is a foodie’s paradise. With its temperate climate along the Mediterranean Sea, this city’s old world charm along with its vibrant food scene could quite possibly be a place I could call home. I spent a few days here using the Q2 to photograph its tapas bars, the main food market and the beautiful gothic architecture.

The main food market is in the La Rambla district and its bustling crowd makes it feel like the heart of the city. If you want to experience La Boqueria in its truest form you must arrive early. The lighting situation inside the market is very challenging. There are many dark areas mixed with the fluorescent and ambient lighting. Capturing the beautiful seafood and charcuterie with the Q2 was very challenging. I am quite pleased at the overall detail and sharpness I achieved with Leica’s newest offering

La Boqueria located in La Ramba District
Once inside La Boqueria you can eat some of the worlds best charcuterie.
One of the many seafood purveyors inside La Boqueria

While Guadi’s Sagrada Familia is awe inspiring in its own right my heart was with the La Catedral. Built in the thirteenth century its Catalan Gothic architecture evokes an era that has long since vanished. The medieval structure with its gargoyles and mythic creatures is something out of a Quim Monzo novel. Placa de Sant Felip Neri behind the cathedral is littered with bullet holes from the Spanish Civil War. I went to the courtyard early on Easter morning to hopefully get an unobstructed image. It was eerily quiet with just a few pigeons looking for their morning snack.

Placa se Sant Felip Neri

Using the Q2 for professional food photography may seem a little risky but having used the original Q, I had the utmost confidence in how to use it. In fact, the image quality is more than I expected. The sharpness is mind blowing. In looking at my images one would have thought I had some elaborate set up. When in fact it was just me, one small LED light and the Q2. I could forgo using my SL setup in the future all together!

I think that overall if you had to purchase one camera the Q2 is quite possibly your best choice. I am very pleased with how it performed and my image quality. It is not, however, an expensive point and shoot. It’s extremely versatile and sharp as hell. Good luck trying to get one in 2019 as I’ve been told they’re already on back order. I would lend you mine but you know I’ll be busy with it.