Here’s How I use Tana to capture and process ideas

Jim Smoot
5 min readMay 21, 2024

One of the challenges I face as an article writer is trying to keep focused in on one area. There is a lot of information that I could include in an article that doesn’t necessarily belong.

It’s easy to wander off the path, and pretty soon I’m lost in a forest of ideas, and it’s not always easy to find my way back to what I was originally trying to say.

For me, having a good note organizing app is crucial.

Having the right app helps me to keep a lot of varied information organized, and helps me to find it all when I need it.

There are a lot of really good apps on the market, and depending on how your thought processing works, some are better than others. (There is a great article at Ness Labs that talks about how to chose the right note app. It doesn’t list some of the newer apps on the market, but it’s a good read just the same.)

For me, and for my way of processing info, the app of choice is Tana.

Tana makes it possible for me to resurface my thoughts and notes in different ways, and lets me make connections between notes in some unique ways. So when it’s time to write, all I have to do is start looking over my notes, and then figure out the direction I want to go

It starts with capturing ideas

Tana makes it easy to quickly capture my ideas. Although they don’t have a mobile app yet, the quick capture app is stellar (IMHO)…

--

--

Jim Smoot

I've been around long enough too know that there is a lot I don't know. But, I never stop trying to learn more. Join me on my journey.