My 1st Month in Switzerland🏔️

Jinay Dagli
4 min readJun 16, 2023

--

Hello! Welcome to my first blog! I thought to make this a travel blog, but couldn’t think of a better title (ofc this can be owed to the time at which I am writing this:-))

So, I got selected for this amazing Summer@EPFL internship program at EPFL, Lausanne which selects a couple of tens of students from around the world (ig I’ll just skip to the travel part hehe).

First picture I took on my arrival :)

I landed in Geneva on the 5th of May and could never forget the moment I landed here😁 you could witness the beauty of the country even from inside the airport, standing in long queues for the formalities. Me and my friend shared a hotel room in Geneva for two days because we were not allowed check-in into the Lausanne room during weekends (ikr?). We rested for a bit and went to see the Geneva city. It was difficult to figure out how to use public transport and stuff (you can ask your hotel for a day pass tho). We visited the old city of Geneva, and ofc, the Geneva lake. There was this marathon going on that day; and the bridge over the Geneva lake was packed with crowd and food stalls and sports equipment stalls.

The following week, I travelled to Lausanne for starting my internship. The next two weeks, I just wandered around the city of Lausanne, and eventually got tired of visiting museums 😪. If you are travelling to Lausanne, I would suggest you visit the old city and the Ouchy lakeside (you could get the most amazing pictures here), and probably skip the museums (there are a lot!), except the Olympic museum, if you are not really the “museum-type person”. One thing I found really amazing is how the Swiss administration is maintaining the museums and other tourist spots as well.

The next week, I travelled to Lucerne and Bern, along with a couple of friends. Both the cities are very, very beautiful, and I would highly recommend anyone, who is visiting Switzerland, to visit Lucerne.

The Lucerne Old City
And, the famous Chapel bridge

In Lucerne, we had our lunch at one of the local restaurants (it was a very small restaurant with just 3 tables), and the food was so authentic and just 😋. It was the best lunch I had had after coming to Switzerland!

LEFT: Margherita and Garlic bread 😋; RIGHT: Vegan Puzzle (yummi-est)

Just on a side note, for watch-lovers, Lucerne has these amazing streets with watch shops on both sides:]

The next day, we went to the capital city of Bern. Although not a conventional tourist spot, we went to Gurten, which is this awesome picnic spot for families living in that area. The best part is that you take the funicular railway when you reach the Gurtenbahn 😃. Once you reach, you would not be able to see any color other than 🟩 (not literally, ofc).

Gurten

We could not have missed the old city of Bern (it is a UNESCO Heritage site), and again, you won’t be disappointed. I feel all the old cities in Switzerland are different and beautiful in their own ways :)

Never thought I would be able to write so much🥺 Since this has already become so long, I would try and describe my following trips (trip to Liechtenstein, the best hiking experience in Andermatt, and another amazing trek in Kandersteg) in another part of this blog 🥺.

This is my first time writing a blog. Please forgive me if you find any grammatical errors or if there’s anything I have described in a wrong way.

And, thank you so much for reading!!!!

Jinay

--

--