Discovering my Word of the Year for 2024

Jin Kim-Mozeleski
2 min readDec 20, 2023

--

Photo by Oskars Sylwan on Unsplash

For the past two years, I’ve adopted a guiding principle known as my “word of the year.” This is a single word or phrase that encapsulates the highs and lows of the previous year, reflects how I aspire to feel in the coming year, and overall conveys a positive theme. Unlike traditional New Year’s resolutions, the word of the year serves as a motivating force during challenging times.

In 2023, my chosen word was secure. It is both a feeling and an action. This resonated with me as I grappled with feelings of insecurity regarding my professional achievements. My primary career goal was to secure research funding for my work as an academic. Writing this in December 2023, my journey to secure research funding continues despite facing numerous grant application rejections. The word secure remained a constant for me. It instilled inner security, providing the courage to pursue larger grants while exploring my inner motivations.

For 2024, my word of the year is expansive. Writing this during a period of extended discomfort and career uncertainty, I recognize the unsettling nature of this situation. I have a tendency to retreat and withdraw in challenging times, so here I am, courageously embracing the desire to expand my comfort zone.

To discover your own word of the year, consider the following prompts:
* What aspects of your life do you want to prioritize this year? Identify your goals and aspirations. For me, I want to define my own career path and what I consider to be a successful career.
* What challenges do you anticipate, and what word embodies the strength to overcome them? For me, my chosen word seeks to improve my default behaviors in challenging times.
* What positive emotion or mindset do you want to evoke amidst the anticipated and unforeseen highs and lows? For me, I want to embrace a positive mindset that can endure the fluctuations of life.

I am committed to an expansive year. What will be yours?

--

--

Jin Kim-Mozeleski

Essays mostly on personal development, writing, and being an academic