How I Design an Infographic from Scratch

Jin Yean
5 min readMar 5, 2020

--

Recently I was invited to complete an assessment that included 2 tests:

  • Test 1: Write a 600–800 words blog article focusing on employee benefits, targeting HR professionals
  • Test 2: Design an infographic based on the article from Test 1

There are many softwares & tools that can make awesome infographics. However, this is my way of designing infographics from scratch with Illustrator.

I’ll share my process from ideation to completion. I hope it can inspire others out there who’re just getting started in infographic design!

TLDR:

  1. Digesting the Content
  2. Sketching Low Fidelity Infographic Wireframe
  3. Designing Illustrations
  4. Designing High Fidelity Infographic Wireframe
  5. Finalising the Infographic

1. Digesting the Content

I was tasked to create an infographic based on the article I wrote. You can read the article here — Employee Benefits to Improve Work-Life Balance.

Since I am the author, I knew what the article was all about. But, if I were given a piece of content I knew nothing about, my process of digesting goes like this:

  1. read the content to understand its context
  2. read the content again to understand its structure

I would repeat these 2 steps again and again until I developed an understanding of the writing pattern. When ideas started floating around in my mind, I’m ready for the next step.

2. Sketching Low Fidelity Infographic Wireframe

I use my trusty iPad + Apple Pencil + Procreate to draw these visualisations. (A simple pencil & paper works too!)

It’s called a low fidelity wireframe because it is a rough sketch that provides structure and forms a base.

I started with writing the title at the top.

To signify the term “work-life balance”, I drew a weight balance holding up “work” and “life” on each ends.

Then, I simply drew lines as placeholders for subheadings and body texts, and circles as placeholders for illustrations.

Since another purpose of the infographic is to direct readers to the article, I included the call-to-action — “Read More” at the bottom of the wireframe.

full image of the low fidelity wireframe

3. Designing Illustrations

Sometimes I will use ready-made vectors in my infographics to save time; other times I like to design my own illustrations from scratch.

I listed concepts that needed to be illustrated:

  • flexible working options
  • compressed workweek
  • parental & caregiver benefits
  • vacation & paid leaves
  • increased job satisfaction
  • decreased recruitment costs
  • reduced staff turnover

I created separate folders for each concepts to store reference images sourced from Google.

I set a 5-minute countdown timer to limit my time on sourcing reference images for each concepts.

With my references folders opened on my laptop, I fired up Procreate and started sketching. I know my sketches leave a lot to be desired but please bear with me. ;)

Once I have the base sketches ready, I further edit them in Illustrator on my laptop.

finalised design concepts

If you want to learn more about drawing illustrations from scratch, I highly recommend these 2 Skillshare courses by Tom Froese (I learned a lot from him!):

[Full disclosure: By signing up via the links above, you’ll get 2 months of Premium Membership on Skillshare for free, while I’ll get 1 free month.]

4. Designing High Fidelity Infographic Wireframe

comparison of high fidelity wireframe vs low fidelity wireframe

A high fidelity wireframe includes vector elements and looks cleaner when compared with a low fidelity wireframe.

The goal in this stage is to get all the basic elements in place to have a bird’s-eye view of the composition.

Always remember to hit that CMD+S/CTRL+S to save your file!

full view of high fidelity wireframe

5. Finalising the Infographic

Now that I have an overview of how the whole design looks, I played around with the colors combination and font pairs.

Color Guide Tool in Illustrator

I picked colors from the illustrations I made earlier, tweaking its shade with the Color Guide tool.

I used a combination of serif, sans serif and handwritten fonts to add some flair.

You can get the fonts below:

completed infographic design

And voilà! The design is completed. Check out the project on Behance too!

Final Thoughts

  1. I didn’t had time to iterate my initial sketches of vector elements in Procreate. If I had more time I would have clean up my sketches with more confident outlines before importing them to Illustrator.
  2. I would probably try using Photoshop instead of Illustrator for future illustration projects, because I find it difficult to add textures using Illustrator, hence I avoided it altogether.
  3. When I was designing the vector elements, I used a combination of Blob Brush (Shift+B), Pen Tool (P), and Pencil (N). It sure gets the job done, but not without leaving a mess of anchor points that could be simplified. Anyone has a fast fix? ;)

I hope this post has been helpful, thank you for reading!

Have thoughts to share? I’d be happy to hear them —

Let’s chat:

liewjinyean(at)gmail(dot)com

Let’s connect:

Or…

☕Buy Me A Coffee? :)

--

--

Jin Yean

🔖Digital Marketer / Master Organizer for Busy Entrepreneurs 「 Create processes that sort through the mess & get things done 」🔗 https://campsite.bio/jinyean