Honest Review of Bank Chor — Riteish Deshmukh’s best missed big numbers at the BO for sure!

Jiya Chulet
2 min readNov 24, 2021

--

When I was studying BMM, I had a specific subject dedicated to the world of cinema. Although I love watching films, it was a tough subject for me. I don’t remember much, but, one thing that is still with me is a thought of my professor that he had shared with our class.

“If you can understand the whole film in one go, know it, it is not a masterpiece or a film that deserves your attention and time”. At that time, I had watched Tamasha. On the first go, I found the Deepika Padukone and Ranbir Kapoor starrer boring. But my professor’s thought managed to manipulate me to watch it again.

And, I recently had the same experience when my brother was watching Bank Chor on TV. The climax of the film blew my mind. As I had watched the film from the middle, I re-watched it on an OTT platform. The only thought came to my mind after finishing the film was — why the h*ll on this planet, this film did not receive enough acknowledgement and appreciation?

The Ritiesh Deshmukh and Vivek Oberoi starrer is a perfect blend of comedy, action, thrill and suspense. Before watching Bank Chor, I use to believe that Riteish Deshmukh has given his best in Ek Villain. However, his performance in Bank Chor has changed my opinion. This film is a gem in his repertoire.

Coming to the plot of Bank Chor (I will try to keep it spoiler-free), the story is about Champak and his two friends, Genda and Gulaab. The naïve trio goes to rob a bank and somehow succeed. As they gear up to make a safe exit, the robbers turned into hostages when the real villain enters come in front, just before the interval.

Coming to the cast, every actor has gone into the skin of their character and it is quite evident. It is difficult to imagine anyone else playing the character other than them. Watching Sahil Vaid, Bhuvan Arora and Vikram Thapa on the screen was a treat. And, Harpal Singh Sokhi has truly sprinkled some “namak shamak” in the overall film. In my personal opinion, I wanted the makers to give a little more screen time to Baba Sehgal and also his exceptional rapping skills.

If you ever get a time (and also Prime Video’s subscription), do give a try to Bank Chor, I don’t think it will disappoint you!

--

--

Jiya Chulet

Jack of all trades, master of none! Oftentime better than master of one!