Writer’s Tools: Creating a Character Sheet

J.J. Hartly
2 min readAug 29, 2018
“gray concrete wall” by Andrew Seaman on Unsplash

I can’t even count how many hours I’ve spent searching for and looking at Character Forms, Character Profiles, Character Sheets, Character Worksheets … you name it, I searched for it and looked at it.

Nothing ever clicked. No character sheet ever seemed to have just enough details, without it being too much information. So I created my own.

I’m sharing it here with you to use in your own stories and development.

Let me know what additions and subtractions you’ll make in your own sheet.

Click Here to Download an advanced Character Sheet

Name/Alias:
First, Middle, Last … Alias or Nickname

Name Meanings:
Name Meanings and Pronunciations

Story Appearances:
Series, Title, Universe

Story Roles:
Protagonist, Antagonist, Sidekick, etc.

Story Themes:
Boy meets Girl, Good versus Evil, etc.

Affiliations:
Political, Social, Religious, etc.

Gender:
Male, Female, Other

--

--

J.J. Hartly

Writer and Creative Artist of apparel, games, merchandise, novelties, and toys. https://linktr.ee/jasejayhartly