The Visa Border Run

Mr. Tec
2 min readMay 15, 2024

When my wife and I lived and worked in Vietnam in 2018, we encountered a difficult situation when renewing our visas for the first time. To renew our visas, we had to exit and reenter Vietnam.

We decided to cross the border into Cambodia and cross back into Vietnam. However, when we finally reached Cambodia by motorbike, we were surprised by how people tried to hassle us for money.

Upon crossing into Cambodia, several men insisted on helping us fill out our visa applications. They even tried to grab the papers from my hand. Seeing my wife grow worried, I had to do something. I assertively put my hand out, made eye contact, and calmly said,

“No, thank you.”

I explained as best I could with non-verbal communication that I did not need assistance. On the way back to Vietnam, a Cambodian official, before stamping our passports, asked for 160 dollars. I knew this wasn’t right, so I politely asked him to show me a reference for this fee. After more inquiries, the official angrily said, “Okay, go.”

I never expected this journey to turn out the way it did, but the experience revealed how essential interpersonal skills are in challenging situations. Because I maintained my composure and was determined to understand and find a solution, my wife and I safely returned to Vietnam.

--

--

Mr. Tec

LA-Born & Raised English teacher & writer, adventuring abroad since 2012. Passionate about family, teaching, storytelling, discourse, and the joy of life.