Tired of Straightening Your Hair? Read this.

Anaïs Canto
4 min readMay 29, 2019

--

What Most Women Don’t Know About Their Wavy Hair.

Most women don’t know that they have beautiful curly or wavy hair until they try the curly girl method. Most of us simply accept that this frizzy and awkward wavy mess is our hair and spend our money and time and blowouts. Well I am here to tell you to put that hair dryer away and cancel your salon appointment because your journey begins here.

As a child, my sisters and I used to constantly brush our hair and put them in low ponytails with several elastics around it, hoping that it would give us straight hair. This would be complicated given that my mom basically has an affro and that our babyhairs were completely resistant.

I used to, like most young girls, straighten my hair almost everyday in highschool. On the days that I didn’t, I’d put it up in a bun or french braid it, both hiding my natural pattern.

Before and After

As I grew older, I’d let my hair dry naturally and on good days be like “Wow! These babies aren’t half bad!” That’s when I started doing my research and found out that when you have curly or even slightly curly hair, girl you gotta moisturize those babies!! This prevents frizz (which, let’s face it, is a struggle) and encourages your curls to come out!

The 4 Magical Steps To Bringing Out Your Curls

  1. Get yourself some shampoo and conditionner that don’t have alcohol in them. Wanna know what usually makes your hair so bubbly and mouss-ey when you normally wash it? The same chemical that’s in laundry detergent. That’s right! You’re putting that shit in your hair!! So get away from shampoos and conditionners with alcohol because they are drying out your hair and creating frizz and breakage. A website that has awesome shampoos, conditioners & deep conditioners (for ALL hair types might I add) is www.curlyhead.ca (all products are organic & sulfate free)

ps . their Mango Deep Conditioner is the holy grail of all deep conditioners and smells like heaven.

OKAY NEXT;

2. I got 2 words for you : cotton t-shirt. Ladies, drop your hair towel and transform that hair-turban with a cotton t-shirt. We’ve all got one, or a dozen and it will drastically reduce the frizz in your hair.

3. Now after you wash your hair, apply a hair cream or a leave-in-conditionner. The main difference between curly hair and straight hair is that curly hair needs moisture! Ever find your hair greasy after one day? It’s because you’re not giving your hair the moisture it needs therefor it’s making it itself by producing more oil on your scalp. Put a quarter size of a leave-in-conditionner or a curly hair cream (with as many natural ingredients as possible and again no alcohol) in your palm. Comb this through your hair from roots to ends. Do not be scared of applying products on your roots ladies. The people telling you that this is awful for your hair is the hair industry and it’s run by people with straight-ass hair, that put alcohol in their products! Putting product at the roots of your hair (NOT your scalp, but the very top of your hair) reduces the frizz because it moisturizes the follicule! Why do you think the top of your hair is the most frizzy?

4. Now; let’s make those curls pop! If this is the beggining of your curly hair journey, you can leave it at this. Finger comb your hair from roots to bottom and the most important word you will hear today : SCRUNCH. Scrunch like you’ve never scrunched before and this will reveal the curls you’ve been neglecting for so long!

I don’t want to go into the styling just yet, but this is a great start to your journey and I promise you you will see your hair becoming healthier after even a week!

Patience! The curly hair journey takes time but it is worth it!

The craziest thing I’ve realized with leaving my natural hair is that I have even better curls than when I’d gotten blowouts in the past.

I have a few blarticles (blog+articles) coming out on curly hair and I’m thinking of making a series! Let me know in the comments below what you’d like to read next.

AC

--

--

Anaïs Canto

Forever a Curly Girl learning to embrace my curls and help my Curly Sisters along the way!