25 Classic Holiday Movies for Christmas #9 — ‘The Homecoming: A Christmas Story’

My Favorite Holiday Classics List

Jessica Kosinski
6 min readDec 8, 2023

This is installment nine in my 25 days of Christmas classics suggestions. I’ll post a link to the list so far at the end. Today, I’m discussing The Homecoming: A Christmas Story (1971). Although filmed that year, the story was set in 1933 and focused on the now famous fictional family known as the Waltons.

A Quick Review of The Waltons

The Waltons (1972–1981 plus later reunion movies and remake movies) was a TV series based on the late Earl Hamner Jr. and his life growing up in the mountains of Virginia. The popular series is one of my favorites. I watch it all the time and have done since I was little, but what some people don’t realize is there were two movies that came before it, too.

The first movie was called Spencer’s Mountain (1961). It was based on the novel by the same name Earl had written and loosely based on his life. However, unlike The Waltons, it took place in Wyoming and was about a family called the Spencers. Therefore, it’s less a The Waltons movie and more The Waltons-adjacent. Even so, it was a good movie. I own it on DVD and very much enjoy it. It starred Henry Fonda, Maureen O’Hara, and James MacArthur. All three are favorites of mine. I especially loved…

--

--

Jessica Kosinski

Freelance Writer, Sci-Fi and Classic TV Lover, Knit/Crochet Enthusiast, Cat Mom - Reach me at jkos_writing@outlook.com