Actors Who Played Multiple Roles in ‘The Waltons’

These Stars Pulled Double Duty in the Classic Series

Jessica Kosinski
9 min readJul 23, 2023
The cast of ‘The Waltons’
Image Source: Lorimar Television

The Waltons (1972–1981) is a classic American historical drama series. The beloved franchise also included a movie called The Homecoming: A Christmas Story that introduced the characters and several reunion movies after the series ended. Today, I’m going to talk about actors who appeared in multiple roles in the show and/or its movies.

The Waltons is a favorite series of mine that I like to think I know inside and out. I even follow Judy Norton, who played oldest daughter Mary Ellen, on YouTube and Kami Cotler, who played youngest daughter Elizabeth, on Facebook. One of the things I love about the series is that I’ve seen it so much it’s like an old friend. It’s comfortable and rarely surprises me, since I’ve seen every episode and movie so many times before. Yet, once in a while a surprise still pops up. Such was the case a few days ago.

The other day, I decided to watch the season eight episode “The Waiting.” “The Waiting” is the episode in which John Boy (Robert Wightman) is recovering after the war (WWII) in the hospital. I have seen it several times before, but it honestly isn’t one of my favorites. If you want to know which are my favorite episodes, I’ve listed them here.

--

--

Jessica Kosinski

Freelance Writer, Sci-Fi and Classic TV Lover, Knit/Crochet Enthusiast, Cat Mom - Reach me at jkos_writing@outlook.com