What Is Your Money Blueprint? And How Do You Change It?

Joe Marijani
4 min readOct 15, 2019

--

Money blue print is simply your belief about money that is what you have been taught or experienced until now.

Photo by Sabine Peters on Unsplash

We came from different parties of this globe, what we have been taught about Money when we were young may differ, some parents teach their kids about money and some don't, Some parent want to help but tend to have a little knowledge about the subject.

Parents are our first teachers that we have before going to school or get in touch with mentors and the rest of the world.

Most of the time what we know about money is what we learned from parents,siblings, friends and relatives, this people carry a lot of influence on decision that we make towards money and life in general.

Two things I’ve learned from my parents about Money.

My parents were givers,

My father used to work with an NGO when I grew up life was good until he got fired, Every Morning on his way to work he used to carry people for free in his car, I never saw him charge anyone for a ride, people used to come to our house early in the morning ask for him if he can offer them a lift.

My Mother was running a home business, we used to sell milk, her milk was the best in the neighborhood since our competitors mix their milk with some water, so people prefers to come and buy milk from us,

We use to have fruits trees like guava, papaya and peaches, I saw my Mama gives to the children fruits for free as they were waiting for the milk, some were just passing by in font of our home and ask for water to drink and end up getting water plus fruits.

My parents put more emphasis on giving one tenth of your Money to God, Since we were Christians every Sunday they use to give us money to give as an offering to God in the church. I also saw them helping orphans, widow, Old people, and New comers.

So I can’t blaming them for when it comes to money giving for my parents it was all they know, the rest of the money was for food, cloth and school fees.

They believe in school and Employment.

They make sure all of their children went school, they were very strict about school, they were ready to become broke rather than fail to pay a school fee to one of their children.

Till now, that I went to school to the level of university and being employed, the subject of me being an entrepreneur to my parents is not very much welcomed they will love to see me climbing the cooperate ladder.

What I learned about Money from my friends and relatives

They are struggling to get it,you got to work hard for it, For someone to have it there must be another who don't have.

I was shocked one-day one of my friend who used to run a shop told me that,to be reach is very hard, You Must have a cold heart, he went on and give me some examples of few rich people that he knows, One of them he said; used to sell things to people and organize a gang later on to robe those people and return things to the ware house so as to sell them again.

How to change your Money Blueprint

You've got to be aware that Money blueprint exist, For me schools did not cover this subject.

A friend of mine gave to me an Audio-book called The secret of the millionaire Minds by T.Harv Eker. Its when I come to realize that what I know about money its not who I am but what learned from other people.

Once you have become aware of the problem you got to understand what is your Money blue print and then dissociate from your previous believes and create your new Money blue print that match with the lifestyle that you want.

The author suggest that you should have 5 bank accounts That is for every income received after tax 50% goes to necessity account, 10% for saving ,10% Giving, 10 % for Education, and 10% for Play(self care).

So this can be a new Money Blueprint that you can follow to get rid of your old ones.

Thank you for your time! you may want check out some of my previous articles via the links below.

My Story & Why I Started An Online Business

Legendary Marketer Review

Top 4 Successful Online Businesses (And Why High-Ticket Is Better)

--

--