Jason Minor
3 min readAug 22, 2017

A Day In The Life:

My parents named me Jason Kent Minor after my dad’s best friend. At a young age I played soccer, basketball, and little league, but those weren’t for me. My true passion is for music. I’ve been playing the drums since I was 8, and the guitar since I was 10. At the age of 11 I joined a beatles tribute band called The Daytrippers. I was John. When The Daytrippers broke up my good friends and I formed a band called The Difference. We’re still together and have performed gigs at Frontier Days, Lamplighters, and Soldier Field. I’m also fortunate enough to be on the drumline at Prospect. When I’m not playing music, I like to watch lots movies.

I picked the song “Make Me Smile” by Chicago one because it’s a really good song, but I picked it because last year in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade the PMK played this song and it reminds me of playing in the parade and how much fun that was.

On Friday night I was practicing drums. A lot of my time was spent on learning the last movement of our show but I did spend some time learning cadences that the Bears drumline plays.

I choose these three people, James, my Mom, and my Aunt because they all inspire me in different ways. James is a big inspiration for me musically and helps me a lot with questions I have. My mom is a very supportive person and that has made me very supportive with others too. The last is my aunt because she owns a very successful company and she’s very good and determined at what she does.

My dream is to one day play John in American English. Ever since I was 9 I have been a huge fan of them and have gotten to know all the members very well over the years. One day I hope I can become a member of the band and bring joy to a lot of people every night.

In the words of Lee Greenwood “ I’m proud to be an American”. I’m very proud of and thankful for people who have served in the military including my cousin. I appreciate all they have done to keep our country free.