Why write? Why publish?

James Britton
4 min readApr 10, 2017

--

https://unsplash.com/@faceline

The reasons people write are many. Here are mine.

A quick internet search reveals two things about why people write. One, taken together, we have thousands of reasons to do it. Two, any individual usually has but a few. As I start into a new publishing platform, it seems reasonable to explain why I like to write and choose to publish. Which may inform you why you might like to read.

Three Reasons to Write

I write for three main reasons: to become a better writer, to become a better thinker and to make sense of life, the universe…and everything. That someone out there in the interwebs might comment or engage in discussion about the writing or the ideas is a welcome perk.

I find there are two benefits to communicating well: one, others will understand us and, two, they will want to hear what we have to say (or write). To improve your writing, most writers, from King to Ogilvy to Vonnegut to that blogger you read last week, have one message: “Write”. So I am.

Writing clarifies ideas and, as a result, improves thinking. Good writing never flows in a perfect stream from the mind of the writer. At least, I have never come across a writer who admitted it did. When giving advice on writing, most writers seem to boil it down to “have a good practice around writing” and “revise, revise, revise” (then discuss at length about how they do both). As I mull over every word again and again to see if it best captures the ideas I want to present, I refine those ideas.

I find writing a mindful practice. I try to live most of my life mindfully. In reality, much of it is a fast flowing series of rapids that I navigate by blind instinct. Writing is one of the things I do to lift me out of that flow and think about and improve how I think.

Writing leads to deeper personal reflection. I have a strong belief in the power of reflection. I find repeatedly taking time to consider the self, the world, people, and…,yes, everything is critical to understanding and to living a good and meaningful life. While introspective thought and good conversation are great tools to reflect, thoughts and spoken words are ephemeral, here then gone. In writing, every word and idea sits there on the page, waiting. Waiting for repeated and careful analysis.

Direct and Plain Writing

I value direct and plain writing. I want to receive it. I want to create it. I work in an environment where most complain they do not have enough time to get their job done. Yet that environment, most of which runs via email, is drowning in a sea of confusing and long-winded messages. Readers lose both time and understanding when confronted by archaic mannerisms, jargon, excess words and pretentious passive voice.

I admit, I do not always achieve the goal of direct writing. As I grew up and observed the people society valued, I soon noted how they communicated. They used complex sentences. They used complicated words. Most spoke or wrote in passive voice. An early career in academia, most of which demands passive voice as a means to appear objective and authoritative, did nothing to change my ways. I was lucky to encounter some great teachers who explained the value of plain and direct language. So I work to reverse nearly a half-century of training and habit. Among other tools, I try to improve my writing by informing myself with the work of Messrs. Strunk, White, Zinsser and Gowers (and the latter’s daughter). And using that “reflect and revise” idea — over and over again.

Publishing Shines a Bright Light

Which brings me to the “Why publish?” question. Simply put, publishing makes you up your game. Like many, I write for my own reward but putting my words on the internet means my work will be on full display to the big bad world. While I am sure, given the countless writers here, or elsewhere, few will read these words, but the idea that someone might forces a heightened level of self-scrutiny and effort.

OK, I’ll add a fourth reason to write. The one the sensible and rational side of my psyche doesn’t want to mention.

Writing feels good. Writing with a good pen on fine paper feels very good.

And who doesn’t want to feel good?

About

James Britton writes reflections on his experiences in an attempt to become a better writer, a deeper thinker and to make sense of life. He is lucky enough to have a very satisfying day job, so there is no newsletter to sign up for. That said, he welcomes thoughtful comment or a sign that what he writes may be interesting to someone (a clap…the odd follow???).

--

--

James Britton

Father. Husband. Compassionate rationalist. Chronic introspectionist. Incurable optimist. Values: intelligent debate, empirical evidence, humour.